19 towns in Cebu Province suspend classes

NINETEEN local government units in Cebu Province suspended classes on Wednesday, January 11, 2023, because of the bad weather.

The Provincial Disaster Risk Reduction and Management Office identified these as the towns of Alegria, Argao, Bantayan, Barili, Compostela, Cordova, Daanbantayan, Madridejos, Medellin, Pilar, Poro, Ronda, San Remigio, San Francisco, Santander, Sta. Fe, Sogod, Tuburan and Tudela.

Some parts of the province have been subjected to heavy downpours brought about by a low pressure area (LPA).

As of press time, the LPA was located 295 kilometers east of Hinatuan, Surigao del Sur, based on the update of the Philippine Atmospheric, Geophysical and Astronomical Services Administration Mactan.

The weather bureau also warned of flooding in low-lying areas and landslides in mountainous areas. (ANV, PJB)