31 Cebu LGUs now Covid-free

·2 min read

A TOTAL of 31 out of 50 local government units in Cebu Province can celebrate Christmas with no worries after they recorded zero Covid-19 cases on Wednesday, Dec. 23, 2020.

The 31 LGUs are Alcoy, Alegria, Aloguinsan, Asturias, Badian, Bantayan, Barili, Boljoon, Borbon, Catmon, Daanbantayan, Dalaguete, Dumanjug, Ginatilan, Madridejos, Malabuyoc, Medellin, Moalboal, Oslob, Pilar, Poro, Samboan, San Fernando, San Francisco, Santa Fe, Santander, Sogod, Tabogon, Tuburan, Tudela and Carcar City.

Dr. Christina Giango, head of the Integrated Provincial Health Office (Ipho), said since November until Dec. 22, the number of LGUs with zero Covid-19 cases rose from 21 to 31.

Giango said the continuing practice of following minimum health protocol was one of the factors why almost half of Cebu’s LGUs are Covid-free.

“Aside from following health and safety protocol, these LGUs continue to implement measures to ensure that Covid-19 doesn’t spread to other communities such as testing only symptomatics and conducting immediate contact tracing on close contacts,” Giango said.

As of Dec. 22, Cebu Province has a total of 6,945 confirmed Covid-19 cases.

Of the number, 6,556 have fully recovered from Covid-19 and only 411 have died from it.

As of Dec. 22, there are still 78 active cases in Cebu Province that are distributed in the LGUs of Argao (10); Balamban (6); Consolacion (5); Sibonga (4); Minglanilla (3); San Remigio (3); Compostela (2); Liloan (2); Alcantara (1); Carmen (1); Cordova (1); Pinamungajan (1); Ronda (1); Tabuelan (1); Talisay City (5); Danao City (4); City of Naga (4); Bogo City (3); Toledo City (2); and at the Cebu Provincial Detention and Rehabilitation Center (19).

With the Christmas and New Year holidays approaching, Giango urged all municipal and city health officers to remain vigilant and to continue surveillance and monitoring activities.

Observance of minimum health protocol should remain in effect, she said. (ANV / JKV)