5 of 6 Villamor Boxing Gym products enter Palarong Pambasan VisMin Cup semis

·2 min read

FIVE out of the six pugs that are fighting under the tutelage of one of the best Filipino boxing coaches, Edito "ALA" Villamor, are off to the semifinals in the Palarong Pambansa VisMin Cup.

Fighting under different teams, the grassroots products of Villamor's Villamor Boxing Gym proved that they belong to Cebu's elite amateurs after winning their respective quarterfinal matches.

They are Kerby Hoybia of Team Cebu City; Justin Balbarino of Team Cebu North; Joeber Catulogan, Vicente Unidos and AJ Ala Villamor of Team Cebu Province.

Hoybia outclassed Arjay Parcon by decision, 5-0, in the School Boys flyweight division. Balbarino stopped FC Army Garde in the School Boys light flyweight division. Unidos destroyed Lerjon Borromeo in the opening round Youth Boys lightweight division.

Catulogan and AJ, Villamor's son, earlier won their respective fights in the opening day. Kent Batlag, also one of Villamor's products lost to Team Cebu Province's Ashley Fajardo.

AJ, Hoybia, Balbarino, Catulogan and Batlag all started under Villamor, while Unidos was fine-tuned at the Villamor Boxing Gym.

Hoybia faces Sean Oneil Abello, Balbarino takes on Jerome Cometa, AJ locks horns with Jony Mar Loreno, Catulogan faces off with John Steven Demaisip and Unidos squares off with John Paul Napoles.

In other results, Abello beat Rio Celestial by split decision (3-2), Jerome Cometa defeated Jolliuse Bereso by unanimous decision (5-0), Jerome Lopez outgunned Job Ezekiel Virtudazo by unanimous decision (5-0), Rolando Escorel won against John Denver Alores by unanimous decision (5-0), Janz Jezreel Quilaton knocked out Kim Justine Yari in the third round, Kyhl Sumalinog scored a second round stoppage of Lence Cord Baddao, Rodel Recosana knocked out Renier Ferolino in the second round, Dryx Russell Sardalla beat Clinton John Martinez by unanimous decision, Jay Brian Baricuatro knocked out Neil Patrick Jimenez in the opening round, Abraham Burlat stopped Renald Mangyao after the latter's corner threw in the towel in the third round, John Kevien Jimenez stopped Mamert Nuez in the first round, John Paul Sarigumba beat Kevin Labanza's via a second round stoppage, Kenshin Jake Alejandro outclassed Khen Patrick Cutanda by unanimous decision, Eduard Teric won against Francisco Mendoza by unanimous decision and John Paul Napoles demolished Lemuel Ybanez in the second round. (EKA)

Our goal is to create a safe and engaging place for users to connect over interests and passions. In order to improve our community experience, we are temporarily suspending article commenting