Who are Africa's longest-serving current leaders?

Africa's longest-ruling current leaders

6. Idriss Deby, Chad

Over 30 years of rule

Deby took power at the head of an armed rebellion

5. King Mswati III, eSwatini

Nearly 35 years of rule

Political parties are banned in eSwatini

previously known as Swaziland

4. Yoweri Museveni, Uganda

Over 35 years of rule

The constitution has been changed twice to keep Museveni in power

The two-term limit was removed in 2005

The age limit of 75 was abolished in 2017

3. Denis Sassou Nguesso, Congo Republic

38 years in office

Sassou lost the first multi-party elections in 1992

He regained power in 1997 after a civil war

2. Paul Biya, Cameroon

Over 38 years in office

Biya took over in 1982 after serving as prime minister

He has won five multi-party elections since 1992

The opposition has called the results fraudulent

1. Teodoro Obiang, Equatorial Guinea

Over 41 years in office

Obiang seized power from his uncle in a coup

Opposition parties were legalized in 1992

but Obiang's party dominates