Apparently, Santiago can't wait to see Enrile out of Senate helm

  • 70 years on, survivors keep memory of Battle of Manila alive

    70 years on, survivors keep memory of Battle of Manila alive

    Associated Press
    70 years on, survivors keep memory of Battle of Manila alive

    MANILA, Philippines (AP) — Seventy years have not dulled the memories of survivors of the monthlong Battle of Manila. The mass killings by Japanese forces, the loved ones lost and the desperation are etched in their minds, as is the elation when American forces finally rescued them in the closing months of World War II. …

  • Toll in Philippine clashes with Islamists rises to 26

    Toll in Philippine clashes with Islamists rises to 26

    AFP News
    Toll in Philippine clashes with Islamists rises to 26

    A military assault on Islamic militants in the southern Philippines entered its fifth day on Saturday, with the toll rising to 24 guerrillas and two soldiers dead, officials said. Ten Abu Sayyaf militants were killed in a two-hour clash on Friday after the army pounded their jungle lair on Jolo island with artillery and helicopter gunships, said Colonel Alan Arrojado, who is leading the assault. Battles were raging in the mountainous and thickly forested villages of Patikul town, an area …

  • France's Hollande visits typhoon-hit Philippine town

    France's Hollande visits typhoon-hit Philippine town

    AFP News
    France's Hollande visits typhoon-hit Philippine town

    French President Francois Hollande met survivors of one of the world's strongest typhoons in a remote Philippine coastal town on Friday, seeking to sound a global alarm on climate change ahead of a crucial UN summit. Hollande is on a two-day trip to the Southeast Asian archipelago, regarded as a frontline state in the struggle against global warming, as part of his campaign to build diplomatic momentum ahead of the Paris summit in December. The French president is determined to broker an …

  • BRIEF-Shenzhen Rainbow Fine Chemical plans to raise up to 2 bln yuan in …


    March 2 (Reuters) - Shenzhen Rainbow Fine Chemical IndustryCo Ltd * Says plans to raise up to 2.06 billion yuan ($328.39million) in private placement of shares * Says proceeds to be used for solar power projects as wellas working capital * Says shares have resumed trading on March 2 Source text in Chinese:; Further company coverage: ($1 = 6.2731 Chinese yuan renminbi) (Reporting by Hong Kong and Singapore newsrooms) …

  • Lithuania's lost Jewish archives come to life online

    Lithuania's lost Jewish archives come to life online

    AFP News
    Lithuania's lost Jewish archives come to life online

    "'Mirele Efros' was a very popular Yiddish play, and a theatre sent the copy (to the Tsarist censor) to get permission to stage it," said historian Lara Lempertiene, showing off several manuscripts, some in Yiddish, others in Hebrew. Thanks to a daring librarian, the 15-page copy of "Mirele Efros", often dubbed the "Jewish King Lear", and the numerous other documents -- whose contents are still largely unknown -- were spared destruction. Thousands more ended up in the United States after the …

Senator Miriam Defensor Santiago could no longer hide her excitement at the thought of having a new Senate president to replace her rival, Senator Juan Ponce Enrile.
During the annual national convention of the Philippine Masons on Thursday, Santiago predicts President Benigno “Noynoy” Aquino III's ally will be the next Senate leader.
“On a numerical basis, it is highly probable that the next Senate President will come from the administration coalition, and will traditionally come from the oldest senators,” Santiago said.
“Since I am an Ilongo, I am happy to emphasize that virtually each one of these four contenders is a Visayan, or related to one,” she added.
The feisty senator was referring to Senators Sergio “Serge” Osmeña, Franklin Drilon, Cynthia Villar, or Teofisto “TG” Guingona III.
Osmeña hails from Cebu while Drilon got his education in Iloilo, where Villar’s father is from. Guingona's grandfather is from Guimaras Island.
Santiago came up with the forecast as she anticipates a radical change in the result of senatorial surveys with the upcoming release of Iglesia Ni Cristo (INC)’s endorsement before April ends.
“The survey results released last Tuesday showed that in this snapshot in time, it is 9 - 3 for the administration coalition,” Santiago said.
“The conventional wisdom is that the top 9 are sure of winning; in this short list, it is 7 - 2 for the administration. But the INC vote might still trump the survey results,” she cautioned.
She explained that the bloc voting practiced by the INC, which reportedly has 9 million followers, “it looks like the next Senate will be predominantly composed of the following:
16 senators from the administration:
Juan Edgardo "Sonny" Angara
Paolo Benigno Aquino
Alan Peter Cayetano
Pia Cayetano
Franklin Drilon
Francis Escudero
Teofisto Guingona III
Loren Legarda
Ferdinand Marcos, Jr.
Sergio Osmeña III
Aquilino Pimentel III
Grace Poe
Ralph Recto
Vicente Sotto III
Antonio Trillanes IV
Cynthia Villar
5 senators from United Nationalist Alliance:
Juan Ponce Enrile
Jinggoy Estrada
Nancy Binay
JV Ejercito
Gregorio Honasan or Jack Ponce Enrile
And 3 independent senators:
Ramon Revilla, Jr. (Lakas)
Lito Lapid (Lakas)
Miriam Defensor Santiago (People's Reform Party)

Editor’s note:Yahoo Philippines encourages responsible comments that add dimension to the discussion. No bashing or hate speech, please. You can express your opinion without slamming others or making derogatory remarks.