Aquino Appoints New Gov’t Officials

MANILA, Philippines - President Noynoy Aquino has appointed several new government officials, including Tourism Assistant Secretary Domingo Ramon Enerio III as new Chief Operating Officer (COO) of the Tourism Promotions Board (TPB).

Enerio was also appointed member of the board of directors of TPB and will have a term of office beginning July 1, 2012 to June 30, 2013.

Enerio has been serving assistant secretary for tourism planning and promotions since August 2010. He also worked as officer-in-charge of the TPB since February 2011.

The President also appointed five new directors of the TPB, namely Magarita Munsayac representing accommodation enterprises, Ma. Margarita Villarica for travel and tour services; Isagani Buenaflor for land air and sea tourist transport services; Edwin Vincent Ortiz for other accredited tourism enterprises, and Maria Montserrat Hamlin for conventions and travel exhibitions. All of the new directors will also serve until the end of June, 2013.

The TPB, an attached agency of the Department of Tourism, is assigned to implement integrated domestic and international promotions and marketing program for the Philippines as a tourism destination.

Meantime, the President signed the appointment papers of a number of low-level officials.

Among the new officers are Luis Rey Velasco as member of the board of Philippine Rice Research Institute, Rolando Cañizal as acting assistant secretary of the Department of Tourism, Romell Cuenca as director IV of the Public-Private Partnership Center of the Philippines, Nerie Bueno as director III of the Department of Public Works and Highways, Nelly Dillera as director II of the Department of Trade and Industry, Marilyn Sta. Catalina as director IV of the Department of Agriculture, and Marissa Cabreros and Margaret Lauron as directors III of the Bureau of Internal Revenue.

Editor’s note:Yahoo Philippines encourages responsible comments that add dimension to the discussion. No bashing or hate speech, please. You can express your opinion without slamming others or making derogatory remarks.

  • Holy Week in Mt Banahaw: Mysticism meets Catholicism VERA Files - The Inbox

    Text and photos by Patricia Isabel Gloria, VERA Files Dolores, Quezon—Around this time each year, hundreds of devotees flock to Barangay Sta. Lucia in Dolores, Quezon on the slopes of Mount Banahaw to celebrate Holy Week. Here, mysticism meets Catholicism, … Continue reading → …

  • Simbang lakad for Lolo Uweng VERA Files - The Inbox
    Simbang lakad for Lolo Uweng

    By April Anne Benjamin, VERA Files San Pedro, Laguna--For 14 Maundy Thursdays now, Inding Amoranto has prayed the rosary while walking the eight-kilometer distance from her house to the Shrine of Jesus in the Holy Sepulcher in the village of … Continue reading → …

  • Batangas women bear ‘the cross’ to save loved ones VERA Files - The Inbox
    Batangas women bear ‘the cross’ to save loved ones

    Text and photos by Jane Dasal, VERA Files Nasugbu, Batangas—At the break of dawn on Good Friday, Celilia Zafra donned a black dress and shrouded her face with a black cloth. Then she walked to a place called “putol na … Continue reading → …

Poll Choice Options