Ateneo de Manila wins World University Basketball Series championship

·1 min read

The Ateneo de Manila University Blue Eagles capped off their Japan sojourn with a championship as they defeated Tokai University, 68-59, to bring home the World University Basketball Series crown on Thursday at the Yoyogi National Stadium Second Gymnasium in Tokyo.

The win was hardly without any tough moments as the Blue Eagles’ once-formidable 15-point lead was sliced down to just six, 59-65, in the last 29 seconds. However, Kai Ballungay and Cebuano guard Sean Quitevis put the finishing touches on the victory with several clutch free-throws.

Dave Ildefonso led Ateneo with 14 points, six boards, and two assists, while Josh Lazaro added a near-double-double of eight points and 13 boards. Big man Geo Chiu also filled up the stat-sheet with six points, 15 rebounds, and two blocks.

The victory was a nice momentum-booster for the Blue Eagles, which is preparing to bounce back in the UAAP after losing the title to the University of the Philippines earlier this year.