Ateneo wins Aboitiz Girls-18 title

THE Sacred Heart School-Ateneo de Cebu won the Girls-18 title of the AboitizLand Football Cup after playing the University of San Carlos (USC) to a scoreless draw at the Ateneo field on Sunday, Feb. 9, 2020.

Both teams finished with 10 points from three wins and one draw record, but the Ateneans scored 34 goals while conceding only one to win the tiebreak. USC scored 13 goals in its four games to settle for second place.

Sheba FC finished third with a 2-2 record, while DBBH got fourth place after winning one match in four games. CIS was last with an 0-4 record.

Meanwhile, the Abellana National School Alumni sealed a third place finish in the 45-Above Division after routing Queen City United (QCU), 4-1. Ireno Cabella needed only a minute to score the first goal before Queen City United fought back with the equalizer in the 16th. However, Cabella ended QCU’s celebrations with another goal on the 19th minute.

Seven minutes later Jonie Romero doubled the lead and Oswald Oracion got the final goal in the 29th.

Erco DB also won its final game of the season, 2-1, against Mis Amigos. Luis Natavio had a goal in the first minute, while Michael Velasquez got the equalizer in the 30th. Florence Ajon gave Erco the lead back in the 36th.

Both Abellana and Erco finished with eight points, but Abellana got third place thanks to a goal difference of four in five games. Erco scored only eight goals in five games while conceding nine to finish fourth. Mi Amigos finished fifth with a point in five games, 11 goals ahead of Queen City, which also has a point in one game.

The title will be decided between KNF United and DB Alumni, who both have 10 points on a three-win, 1-draw record. However, DB Alumni has the edge after scoring four more goals than KNF United. (PR)