Bantilan crowned bowler of the year

ROLAND Bantilan claimed the Cebu Tenpin Bowling Association (Cetba) Bowler of the Year title after topping the culminating tournament on Saturday, Nov. 24, 2019, at the SM City Cebu Bowling Center.

Bantilan, a veteran bowler who started playing the sport in 1995, finished the tournament with a total score of 1,292 from rounds of 209, 193, 194, 184, 202 and 190.

Bantilan completed a sweep this year as the 52-year-old bowler also emerged as the Bowler of the Year for the Friday Group, which was played a week before at the same venue.

“It’s my second time to win the Bowler of the Year title. My first one was in 2017. I also won both the regular Bowler of the Year title and the Friday Group title that year,” said Bantilan.

Bantilan said he played a balance game in the culminating game to complete the double victory.

“I played consistently whole game. I did not get super high scores, but I also did not get low scores. All my rounds were average scores,” said the 20-handicapper kegler.

John Galindo finished in second place with a 1,273 from rounds of 215, 185, 192, a pair of 169 and 223, while Ronan Barredo settled in third place with a total score of 1,263.

Last year’s champion Joshua Galarse settled only for 18th place with a score of 1,149.

Completing this year’s Top 10 were Terrence Williams (1,241), female bowler Beth Ngo (1,229), Marvin Sevilla (1,227), Emi Osada (1,212), Jake Yap (1,199), Australia’s Mark Hodgkinson (1,193) and female bowler Baby Bacon (1,178). (RSC)