Batch 1985 crowned champs in USC-North hoops

Jonas N. Panerio

THE 1985 Legends continue to lay claim to the title as the most dominant team in the University of San Carlos alumni basketball history as they captured the Seniors division crown with an 82-65 win over the 1988 Barako in the finals of the USC North Alumni Basketball Club Cebu City Mayor’s Cup at the USC North Campus gym last Sunday, November 17, 2019.

Former pro Lou Regidor had 27 points and 15 rebounds to go with six assists and two steals to help the Legends capture their 21st championship.

Regidor was named to the Seniors division Mythical Five squad along with 1988’s Dindo Sausa, 1986’s Arturo Mata and Bingo Matugas and 1990’s Hector Lawas.

Third place honors went the way of the 1990 Titans after they routed the 1986 Wave Riders, 70-55.

Lawas stuffed the stat-sheet in that game as he scored 24 points, 10 boards, five assists and six steals.

Over in Division 3, the 2013 District forced a do-or-die Game Three after they nipped the 2015 Assassins in overtime, 75-66. The duo of King Osabel and Michael Balankig did a lot of damage to the Assassins’ defense as the latter had 28 points, seven boards, two assists and two steals while the latter ended up with 23 points, five rebounds and three dimes.

Named to Division 3’s Mythical Five were 2013’s Osabel and Dolan Adlawan, 2011’s Dave Guardiario and Anthony Romaguerra and 2015’s Francis Galado. (SunStar Cebu)