Batch 2001 nips 2002 in USPF alumni hoops

·1 min read

Batch 2001 took down 2002, 62-53, to boost their record in the University of Southern Philippines Foundation Alumni Association Panthers Cup Season 2 Inter-Batch Basketball Tournament last Sunday at the Capitol Parish Gym.

Jesan Dabuco led the way for 2001 with 18 points as the team improved to 3-2 in Bracket B of the tournament.

Meanwhile, in other Bracket B matches, Batches 2006 and 2011 also gained headway in the standings after they hurdled their respective foes. 2011 crushed 2000, 68-33, as Aristotle Alcos scored 13 markers. Batch 2006’s Jam Ferraren then led his squad to a 57-44 win over 2003 as he registered 23 points.

2006 and 2011 each have similar 4-1 records, just an inch behind the unbeaten 2008, who holds a clean 5-0 card.

Batch 2014 also kept 2004 winless with a 75-57 victory. Kurt Pepito scored 16 points and grabbed 14 rebounds for 2014.

Over in Bracket A, batches 1992, 1998, and 1999 still share the lead after they defeated their respective opponents.

Batch 1992—the reigning champions—beat 1997, 44-38, as Ronald Ravanera had 12 points and four steals. Batch 1998 clobbered 1995, 63-25, while Batch 1999 trumped 1994, 68-54, thanks to Luis Enero’s 24 markers.

Batches 1992, 1998, and 1999 all have identical 4-1 records.

Batch 1996 also barged into the win column with a 50-47 thriller over 1991. Glen Besañes had 20 points to pace 1996.

Our goal is to create a safe and engaging place for users to connect over interests and passions. In order to improve our community experience, we are temporarily suspending article commenting