Batch 2002 crowned Division 2 champs in USC-North Alumni cup

Jonas N. Panerio

THE 2002 Goats took care of business as they swept the 2001 Shipmen, 81-56, in Game Two to claim the Division 2 championship in the University of San Carlos North Alumni Basketball Club Cebu City Mayor’s Cup at the USC North Campus gym on Sunday, November 17, 2019.

The Goats leaned on the brilliant performance of former two-time Cesafi MVP, Enrico Llanto, who had 24 points, an incredible 25 rebounds, five assists, four steals and two blocked shots to sink the Shipmen in the best-of-three series, 2-0, and capture the crown.

Meanwhile, the second runner-up trophy went the way of the 2003 Stallions after they defeated the 2005 Chameleons, 62-46. Miguel Peras had 21 points, eight rebounds, two assists and two steals for Batch 2003.

Named to the Mythical Five for Division 2 were 2002’s Joel Dinawanao who averaged 20 points and nine rebounds, his 2002 teammate Joseph Move, who normed 15 points, four boards, an assist and a steal per game; Peras, Marck Campomanes of 2005 and 2001’s Conrad Plando.

Over in Division 1, the 1999 NinetyNiners claimed the title with an 82-63 win over Sipat ’98, in Game Two. Fritz Villamor sizzled with 30 points, seven boards, two assists and two steals as Batch 1999 wrapped up the series, 2-0.

Third place honors went to the 1997 Ronins which defeated Batch 1996, 66-64. Al Bughao exploded for 30 points and six rebounds in that game.

Making it to the Mythical Five were 1997’s Bughao and Jake Saturinas, 1998’s Criz Matunog and 1999’s Villamor and his teammate Joseph Bragat. (SunStar Cebu)