BFAR declares shellfish ban in 18 areas

Marje Pelayo

MANILA, Philippines – The Bureau of Fisheries and Aquatic Resources (BFAR) has announced a shellfish ban in 18 areas due to red tide contamination.

Based on the latest laboratory tests conducted by BFAR and the local government units (LGUs), shellfishes collected in the following areas are still positive for paralytic shellfish poison that is beyond the regulatory limit.

The infected areas include:

  • coastal waters of Sual in Pangasinan;
  • coastal waters of Pampanga;
  • coastal waters of Bataan (Mariveles, Limay, Orion, Pilar, Balanga, Hermosa, Orani, Abucay and Samal);
  • Puerto Princesa Bay,
  • Puerto Princesa City in Palawan;
  • coastal waters of Dauis and Tagbilaran City in Bohol;
  • Irong-irong, San Pedro, and Silanga Bays in Western Samar.

Likewise, Cancabato Bay, Tacloban City in Leyte is now positive for red tide toxin, the agency said.

Eating toxin-contaminated shellfish can cause paralytic shellfish poisoning. After ingestion, the toxin immediately affects the nervous system with symptoms usually occurring within 30 minutes.

Red tide toxin contamination may cause respiratory paralysis and could be fatal.

#RedTidePHShellfish Bulletin No. 21Series of 2019 dated November 15, 2019Based on the latest laboratory results of…

Posted by Bureau of Fisheries and Aquatic Resources Central Office on  Monday, 18 November 2019

The post BFAR declares shellfish ban in 18 areas appeared first on UNTV News.