FEU Tamaraws

Erwin Oliva
College Hoops

The Far Eastern University was one of the founding members of the National Collegiate Athletic Association in 1924. It bolted out from the league in 1936 to form the University Athletic Association of the Philippines with the National University, the University of the Philippines and the University of Sto. Tomas in 1938.

FEU was the first team to clinch the UAAP basketball crown in 1938. It continued to dominate the tournament with rival UE Red Warriors from the 1950s to the 1980s. Its rivalry with UE, dubbed the "Battle of the East," is well known. FEU has won the most UAAP basketball championships with 19 titles versus 18 of the Red Warriors. It won its last championship crown in 2005 after it beat the De La Salle University Green Archers. The Recto squad also produced two-time Most Valuable Player Arwind Santos.

Controversy has hounded the Tams in recent years with the shooting of then-rising star Mac Baracael just meters away from its Gym in 2008. In 2009, Mark Barroca was taken out of the league after persistent allegations of game-fixing.

The green and gold team boasts a long list of high-profile basketball alumni including PBA legends Johnny Abbarientos and Victor Pablo who both serve as FEU's assistant coaches.

With their disappointing loss against the Ateneo Blue Eagles in last year's Finals, the Tamaraws hope to grab this season's crown. Returning 2005 championship head coach Bert Flores will lead the team while reigning Most Valuable Player RR Garcia and Rookie of the Year Terrence Romeo will provide fire support.