Brexit news latest: EU officials sign-off Withdrawal Agreement bill

Bronwen Weatherby

European Council president Charles Michel and European Commission president Ursula von der Leyen have signed the Brexit Withdrawal Agreement, the council has said.

The European Parliament is expected to vote to ratify the agreement on January 29 ahead of Britain’s departure from the EU on January 31.

Following the signing of the document, President of the European Commission Ursula von der Leyen tweeted: "Charles Michel and I have just signed the Agreement on the Withdrawal of the UK from the EU, opening the way for its ratification by the European Parliament."

Mr Michel, President of the European Council, sat with Ms von der Leyen to sign the accord in front of two EU flags.

More to follow...