Cebu City returns to ECQ, Metro Manila remains under GCQ

Marje Pelayo

MANILA, Philippines — President Rodrigo Roa Duterte on Monday (June 15) placed Cebu City under enhanced community quarantine (ECQ) starting Tuesday (June 16).

In a statement, Presidential Spokesperson Secretary Harry Roque said the increasing number of new cases and widespread community transmission in the majority of barangays in the city has prompted the decision. 

Likewise, case doubling time of less than seven days in the city has been consistent and its critical care system has been overwhelmed with an increased number of patients surpassing the city’s critical care capacity.

Metro Manila, meanwhile, remains under general community quarantine (GCQ).

Here are the quarantine classifications in specific areas in the country taking effect June 16 until June 30:

Enhanced Community Quarantine (ECQ)

  • Cebu City

Modified Enhanced Community Quarantine (MECQ)

  • Talisay City

General Community Quarantine (GCQ)

  • Metro Manila
  • Luzon
    • Cagayan
    • Isabela
    • Nueva Vizcaya
    • Quirino
    • Santiago City
    • Aurora
    • Bataan
    • Bulacan
    • Tarlac
    • Olongapo City
    • Cavite
    • Laguna
    • Batangas
    • Rizal
    • Quezon
    • Occidental Mindoro
  • Visayas
    • Bohol
    • Cebu
    • Negros Oriental
    • Siquijor
    • Mandaue City
    • Lapu-Lapu City
  • Mindanao
    • Davao City
    • Zamboanga City

Meanwhile, the rest of the country remains under modified general community quarantine (MGCQ) until June 30, Roque concluded.

The post Cebu City returns to ECQ, Metro Manila remains under GCQ appeared first on UNTV News.