Cebu City to turn over 9 roads to DPWH

·1 min read

THE Cebu City Government will turn over nine of the city’s roads to the Department of Public Works and Highways (DPWH) for the speedy implementation of asphalting and better maintenance.

Cebu City Councilor Jerry Guardo, chairman of the committee on infrastructure, said Friday, June 3, 2022, that the City Council has moved to endorse the nine roads under to the National Government.

These are Sanciangko Street, N. Escario Street, Leon Kilat Street, F. Ramos Street, J. Alcantara Street, P. Del Rosario Street, Junquera Street, F. Vestil Street, and A. Soriano Street.

Once these roads will be converted from city roads to national roads, Guardo said the asphalting and maintenance will be taken care of by the DPWH, a national agency.

The Cebu City Government then can now focus on channeling its budget into conducting repair works on barangay and other city roads, said Guardo.

Asphalt storm

Guardo added the City is working with the DPWH in completing its current “asphalt storm,” which is one of Mayor Michael Rama’s “21 gun salute projects.”

The P70 million budget for the city’s asphalting project has not been fully used and the asphalting of roads is still ongoing, said Guardo.

The asphalting project covers all roads in Cebu City’s north and south districts, including the mountain barangays, Guardo added.

Our goal is to create a safe and engaging place for users to connect over interests and passions. In order to improve our community experience, we are temporarily suspending article commenting