OROQUIETA CITY, Misamis Occidental – Seven higher education institutions (HEI) in Northern Mindanao were identified as Centers of Excellence (COE) and Centers of Development (COD) during school year 2011-2012.

The Commission on Higher Education (Ched) recognized HEIs as models of excellence and resource centers in the region, said Ched Regional Director Zenaida Gersana.

These COEs and CODs receive support from Ched by way of provision for student scholarships, faculty development, library, and laboratory upgrading and research and extension services.

The HEIs, which also receive support for the development of their instructional materials and implementation of networking and linkaging activities from Ched, include Central Mindanao University in Musuan, Maramag, Bukidnon, a COE for Agriculture, Veterinary Medicine and Forestry and COD for Biology and Mathematics; and Mindanao State University-Iligan Institute of Technology in Iligan City, a COE in Biology, Chemistry, Mathematics and Teacher Education and COD in Civil Engineering, Information Technology and Physics.

In Cagayan de Oro, the identified HEIs are Capitol University, which is a COE for Teacher Education and COD for Criminology; Xavier University (XU), which is a COD for Agriculture, Chemical Engineering, Civil Engineering, Electronics and Communications Engineering, Teacher Education and Electrical Engineering; Cagayan de Oro College, a COD for Criminology; and Mindanao University of Science and Technology, a COD for Electrical Engineering.

MSU-Naawan is also identified as COD in Marine Science.

Gersana said XU was also given the Award of Distinction for its Autonomous Status, signed by Ched Chairperson Patricia Licuanan, which started in 2010 and will end in 2014.

She added that Liceo de Cagayan University in Cagayan de Oro was also granted an Autonomous Status starting 2009 and will end in 2012. (PIA)

Editor’s note:Yahoo Philippines encourages responsible comments that add dimension to the discussion. No bashing or hate speech, please. You can express your opinion without slamming others or making derogatory remarks.

  • The other side of Palawan Ellen Tordesillas, Contributor - The Inbox
    The other side of Palawan

    By Ellen T. Tordesillas Mention Palawan and what comes to mind are  Underground River and El Nido in the northern side of this richly-blessed province from its capital, Puerto Princesa. Three  weeks ago, we went to the southern side- in … Continue reading → …

  • What can void a new car warranty? James Deakin - Wheel Power
    What can void a new car warranty?

    "I was denied warranty once for changing my horn!" One very annoyed reader wrote. "I was told that placing a backup camera will void my warranty" said another. The others are best left in my private inbox as Yahoo! have a swear jar in the office that I do not feel like donating this week's pay to. Continue reading → …

  • Docu exposes destruction of PH marine resources VERA Files - The Inbox
    Docu exposes destruction of PH marine resources

    By Kiersnerr Gerwin Tacadena, VERA Files "Gutom (hunger)," Sen. Loren Legarda said is what’s in store for the Filipino people if destruction of the country's marine resources is not stopped. Legarda, chair of the Senate committee on Environment and Natural … Continue reading → …

Poll Choice Options