Comelec proclaims top six senators, Binay no-show

Kim Arveen Patria
Kim Arveen Patria
Yahoo! Southeast Asia Newsroom
Newly-elected Senators Francis Escudero, Loren Legarda and Grace Poe-Llamanzares pose for the media minutes before their proclamation by the National Board of Canvassers at the NBOC canvassing center, Philippine International Convention Center (PICC), Pasay City, south of Manila, on 16 May 2013. (Mike Alquinto/NPPA Images)

(UPDATE2) Three reelectionists and three scions of political bigwigs have been proclaimed winners in the senatorial race only three days after the May 13 midterm elections.

The partial list of senators-elect was dominated by the administration's Team PNoy, leaving only one spot for the opposition's United Nationalist Alliance.

Former censors chief Grace Poe-Llamanzares led the pack of Team PNoy candidates who bagged five of the first six spots in the Senate's so-called "Magic 12.

Claiming three of the first six Senate seats were reelectionists and Team PNoy bets Loren Legarda, Alan Peter Cayetano and Francis "Chiz" Escudero, who have consistently topped pre-election surveys.

Two other Team PNoy bets were named early winners. These were former censors chief Grace Poe-Llamanzares, who is the surprise leader of the Senate race so far, and Aurora Rep. Juan Edgardo "Sonny" Angara.

Nancy Binay was the only opposition bet in the partial list of Senate winners.

Poe arrived at the proclamation accompanied by her mother, actress Susan Roces and son Ryan. Legarda and Angara came with their families.

Cayetano was with his wife, Taguig Mayor City Lani, while Escudero arrived with his ladylove Heart Evangelista. Binay was meanwhile absent from the proclamation.

Legarda, a veteran senator who first won in 1998, will be serving her third term. She ran and lost in the vice presidential race twice--in 2004 and in 2010.

Escudero, for his part, was first elected into the Senate in 2007, after serving out three full terms as the representative of Sorsogon's first congressional district.

It was also in 2007 that Cayetano first won a Senate seat. He previously served as representative of Taguig City, of which he was vice mayor in 1998 to 2001.

Poe, the daughter of late movie star and ex-presidential aspirant Fernando Poe Jr., has exceeded expectations by leading the Senate race as early as canvassing began.

Binay was meanwhile, the eldest daughter of Vice President Jejomar Binay. She had served as assistant to his father, before being fielded by UNA as its surprise Senate bet.

Senator-elect Angara, who rounded out the list of early winners, is the namesake son of former Senate President Edgardo Angara.

The younger Angara enters the Senate with three terms' worth of legislative experience under his belt.

The Commission on Elections, sitting as the National Board of Canvassers, proclaimed the first six winning Senate bets after counting only some 13.38 million votes.

Canvassing is set to resume right after the partial proclamation, with poll chief Sixto Brillantes Jr. saying he expects 12 senators-elect Saturday at the latest.

After the first proclaimed senators-elect, the following have bagged the highest votes in the Senate race so far:
7. Aquino, Paolo Benigno "Bam"
8. Pimentel, Aquilino Martin "Koko"
9. Trillanes, Antonio IV "Sonny"
10. Ejercito Estrada, Joseph Victo "JV"
11. Villar, Cynthia
12. Honasan, Gregorio "Gringo"
13. Gordon, Richard "Dick"
14. Zubiri, Juan Miguel "Migz"
15. Enrile, Juan Ponce Jr. "Jack"