Comelec proclaims early party-list winners

Kim Arveen Patria
Kim Arveen Patria
Yahoo! Southeast Asia Newsroom
(L-R) Commission on Elections (COMELEC) Commissioner Lucenito Tagle, Commissioner Christian Robert Lim, Chairman Sixto Brillantes, and Commissioner Elias Yusoph convene at the Philippine International Convention Center (PICC), a day after the elections, 14 May 2013. (George Calvelo/NPPA Images)

(UPDATE) Fourteen early winners in the party-list race have been named Friday even as the protracted count of votes continues.

The Commission on Elections, sitting as the National Board of Canvassers, said the following groups have topped the tally so far:

A Teacher
Bayan Muna
Ako Bicol
OFW family
An Waray

The groups have bagged at least 2 percent of the total votes counted so far, which means that they are assured of at least one seat in the House of Representatives.

A total of 58 seats are up for grabs in the midterm polls, with 111 groups competing for the slots.

The poll body has only resumed counting party-list votes Monday, May 20, after it suspended its party-list canvass a day after the polls.

This, after several questions had been raised over the inclusion of votes for 12 groups earlier disqualified by Comelec.

The party-list count was supposed to have been conducted simultaneously with the canvass of votes for the senatorial elections.

The poll body however went ahead with the Senate count, proclaiming winners partially as early as three days after the polls.

It completed the list of 12 winning Senate bets Saturday.