Consolacion mayor eyed to become LMP-Cebu president

·1 min read

CONSOLACION town Mayor-elect Teresa "Nene" Alegado said she is open to being chosen as president of the League of Municipalities of the Philippines (LMP) Cebu Chapter.

Alegado told reporters on Tuesday, June 14, that she is one of those rooted to replace Liloan Mayor Ma. Christina Frasco to lead the organization as relayed to her by Tuburan Mayor-elect Democrito “Aljun” Diamante.

Diamante was the former LMP-Cebu Chapter president and vice president of the non-government organization's Visayas Chapter in 2013.

He was then replaced by Frasco in 2019.

However, Frasco was newly appointed by President-elect Ferdinand "Bongbong" Marcos Jr. as the secretary of the Department of Tourism (DOT), leaving the LMP-Cebu leadership position now open.

Alegado, who is also one of the senior members and former vice president of LMP-Cebu, said she did not aspire to become the organization's next president.

However, she is open to leading LMP-Cebu if chosen by the members. She also added that she is willing to give the presidency seat if there are other members who are interested in the position.

"If they feel that they wanted me to lead them, I think I could. However, if others are willing for the position, it would also be okay for me," said Alegado.

"The position is not the essence or relevant. What is really important is the respect of your colleagues," she added.

The League of Municipalities of the Philippines, formerly known as the League of Municipal Mayors in 1977, was created to ventilate, articulate, and crystalize issues affecting municipal government administrations and find solutions for them as mandated by Section 496 of the Republic Act 7160, otherwise known as the Local Government Code of 1991. (HIC)

Our goal is to create a safe and engaging place for users to connect over interests and passions. In order to improve our community experience, we are temporarily suspending article commenting