CVFA kicks off campaign in PFF U-19 National Championship

·2 min read

THE Central Visayas Football Football Association (CVFA) kicks off its campaign in the Philippine Football Federation (PFF) National Championship Second Division Visayas Leg on Saturday, June 18, 2022, at the Cebu City Sports Center (CCSC).

CVFA’s first assignment in Group E is against Eastern Visayas Regional Football Association (EVRFA) at 3 p.m. on Saturday. Negros Oriental-Siquijor Regional Football Association (NOSIRFA) takes on Kaya FC-Iloilo in the opening match at 8 a.m.

“After the Palaro bubble, gathered all the players, a selection of players from Cebu and Bohol. We will give our best even though this is Division 2 because we’re fighting for a spot in Division 1. The boys will give a good game,” CVFA head coach Glen Ramos said in yesterday’s press conference at Casino Español de Cebu.

Rodney Orale, CVFA president, assures the safety of the teams amid the coronavirus disease (Covid-19) pandemic.

“A lot of fans will come to the venue. We will follow strict health protocols. We also assure the safety of the participants with our security. We have prepared for this for a long time and we expect a good outcome,” Orale added.

The second match day of the tournament, hosted by the CVFA and sponsored by Daewoo Trucks and Island Premium Paints, will feature CVFA against NOSIRFA and Kaya FC-Iloilo against EVRFA on Monday, June 20. The final match day will be on Wednesday, June 22, wherein CVFA faces Kaya FC-Iloilo and NOSIRFA takes on EVRFA.

The top finisher of Group E advances to Group B of the National Group Stage along with the top teams in Group F, Group G and Group H. The squads will play a single round-robin in the National Group Stage, in which the top team will become the champion of Visayas-Mindanao group and will be promoted to the First Division.

The CVFA U-19 team is headed by team manager Jhojo Partosa, head coach Glen Ramos, assistant coach Jinggoy Roa, goalkeeper coach Garry Garciano, assistant goalkeeper coach Jojo Tapia, physical therapist Nico Quiñones and team coordinator Chad Songalia.

The team is composed of Ezralph Legara, Jonathan Pacaldo, Mark Mayor, Eugene Tillor, Uriel Villacarlos, Simon Del Campo, Nathan Lingatong, John Vincent Largado, Edgar Paredes, Zraim Ebrada, Christian Carizon, Bebong Lamparas, Matthew Suico, Carsten Pumareja, Ludwig Badayos, Richard Songalia, Joseph Garces, Gianrenzo Custado, Kyrell Bangot, Stephen Soria, Frances Vercide, Paul Mapula, Mark Lester Zafra, Yoji Selman and Keenan Cergneux.

Our goal is to create a safe and engaging place for users to connect over interests and passions. In order to improve our community experience, we are temporarily suspending article commenting