Daanbantayan donates P100K to ‘Odette’-hit LGUs

·1 min read

THE Municipality of Daanbantayan in northern Cebu donated P100,000 to 16 local government units (LGUs) in the southern part of the province that were severely devastated by Typhoon Odette (Rai).

The cities of Carcar, Naga and Talisay and the municipalities of Argao, Dalaguete, Consolacion, Compostela, Cordova, Liloan, Minglanilla, San Fernando and Sibonga received the financial assistance during a meeting attended by mayors and heads of different government agencies Wednesday, Dec. 22, 2021.

The tri-cities of Cebu, Lapu-Lapu and Mandaue and the City of Danao are also set to receive the financial aid.

Daanbantayan Mayor Sun Shimura said every time his town is hit by a typhoon, mayors from other LGUs would always be there to help, and now that his town was spared from the devastation of Typhoon Odette, this is a way of giving back to others.

Talisay City Mayor Gerald Anthony “Samsam” Gullas Jr. posted on his Facebook page Thursday, Dec. 23, to express his gratitude for the financial assistance that can be used by his constituents who were greatly affected by the typhoon.

Gullas added that the City of Talisay was able to assist Daanbantayan when it was hit by a typhoon in 2019 but did not expect anything in


“To Daanbantayan Mayor Sun Shimura, you are greatly appreciated. We’re in awe of the kindness, empathy and compassion that you have extended,” said Gullas.

The day after the onslaught of Typhoon Odette last Dec. 16, Daanbantayan immediately deployed its personnel to assist in the clearing operations and to provide water supply in the towns of Consolacion and Liloan. / (IRT)

Our goal is to create a safe and engaging place for users to connect over interests and passions. In order to improve our community experience, we are temporarily suspending article commenting