Demecillo loses to Ishida in Japan

·1 min read

CARLO Demecillo put up a good fight but was stopped by former world champion Sho Ishida in the last round of their eight-round contest on April 24 at the Edion Arena in Osaka, Japan.

Ishida caught Demecillo with a left uppercut to the body that dropped him to the canvas. Demecillo stood up and beat referee Nobuhiro Matsubara’s count. Matsubara quickly intervened as Ishida threw a barrage of punches at Demecillo.

Demecillo’s coach Christopher “Ping-Ping” Tepora felt that the stoppage was a bit premature but they accepted the loss.

“Carlo showed a very good fight. He just got hit in the last round. He was still okay but the referee quickly stopped the fight,” Tepora told SunStar Cebu. “We can’t do anything. We were not that lucky.”

The 26-year-old Demecillo suffered his first loss in four years. It was just his second career defeat via a stoppage.

Our goal is to create a safe and engaging place for users to connect over interests and passions. In order to improve our community experience, we are temporarily suspending article commenting