Donaire Jr. signs with Probellum

·2 min read

FILIPINO superstar Nonito Donaire Jr. inked a promotional pact with upstart boxing promotional company Probellum.

Donaire Jr. joins the likes Ricky Burns, Regis Prograis and Badou Jack as the top stars of the recently launched promotional company. The president of Probellum is former Golden Boy Promotions chief executive officer Richard Schaefer.

“Nonito is one of the greatest fighters in boxing. A future Hall of Famer and four-division and nine-time world champion, but it is not just his talent in the ring but his personality, charisma and values outside of the ring which make him the champion and role model he is,” said Schaefer in a statement.

“I am fortunate to call him my friend. It is a pleasure and an honor for me to have him join Probellum and I can’t wait to help him unify the bantamweight division and conquer many more world titles.”

Donaire Jr. has close ties with Schaefer. He was promoted by Schaefer’s company, Ringstar Promotions since 2017 before signing with Probellum.

“Richard Schaefer has always been a ‘fighter’s first’ promoter,” Donaire Jr. said.

“I am convinced that with his vision, leadership skills and passion for the fighters he will elevate the sport and most importantly continue to empower fighters. I am proud to be part of Team Probellum and continue my relationship and friendship with Richard.”

After losing to Japanese superstar Naoya Inoue by unanimous decision in the World Boxing Super Series bantamweight finals in 2019, the 38-year-old Donaire Jr. bounced back with a fourth round knockout of Nordine Oubaali to win the World Boxing Council (WBC) bantamweight belt on May 29, 2021 in Carson, California.

Donaire Jr. is looking for a rematch with Inoue to unify the WBC, World Boxing Association and International Boxing Federation bantamweight titles.

Donaire has a record of 41-6 with 27 knockouts. He won world titles in the flyweight, super flyweight, super bantamweight and featherweight divisions. He was hailed by the Boxing Writers Association of America as its “Fighter of the Year” in 2012. He has beaten the likes of Vic Darchinyan, Moruti Mthalane, Fernando Montiel Omar Narvaez, Toshiaki Nishioka and Jorge Arce.

Our goal is to create a safe and engaging place for users to connect over interests and passions. In order to improve our community experience, we are temporarily suspending article commenting