139K Pantawid beneficiaries get cash aid

A TOTAL OF 139,312 Pantawid Pamilyang Pilipino Program (4Ps) household beneficiaries in Cebu have already received their P4,650 in emergency cash subsidy.

The Department of Social Welfare and Development (DSWD) 7 in a press statement released on Thursday, June 18, said it already released the second tranche of the emergency cash subsidy under the Social Amelioration Program to 4Ps beneficiaries in Cebu last June 11.

The P4,650 serves as a top-up amount to the beneficiares’ regular cash grant of P1,350, which includes a health grant of P750 and P600 rice subsidy.

DSWD 7 Assistant Director Shalaine Lucero said there are 147,406 Pantawid members, and the remaining beneficiaries will receive theirs.

For 4Ps members who are non-cash card holders, the DSWD 7 said they will be facilitated again through a direct payout scheme. All 4Ps beneficiaries are reminded to wait for their “Pantawid City or Municipal Links” for information on when their subsidy will be available for release.

Likewise, all 4Ps household beneficiaries who availed of the emergency cash subsidy under SAP are no longer qualified to receive other subsidies from other national government agencies such as the Department of Labor and Employment’s Covid-19 Adjustment Measures Program (Camp), the Tulong Pangkabuhayan sa Displaced/ Underprivileged Workers (Tupad), the Department of Agriculture’s Cash Assistance for Farmers Survival and Recovery (Sure) Assistance for marginalized, small farmers and fishers recovery package, and the small business wage subsidy of the Social Security System.

The DSWD earlier said it allowed low-income families in Cebu to avail themselves of the second tranche of the cash subsidy as it is the only province that remained under enhanced community quarantine (ECQ) status as of May.

Around 585,376 low-income families in Cebu Province, including the independent cities of Cebu, Mandaue and Lapu-Lapu, are covered in the second tranche. Meanwhile, there are 236,831 waitlisted families in the four provinces in the Central Visayas region. (WBS)