DTI 7 halts issuing cargo passes

THE Department of Trade and Industry (DTI) 7 has stopped issuing certificate of exemption for unhampered movement of delivery vehicles carrying cargo and essential supplies in Cebu.

This started on Wednesday, June 24, 2020, and the agency made this decision so as not to duplicate the efforts made by the Cebu Provincial Government.

“With the Cebu Provincial Government’s strict border controls in line with IATF (Inter-Agency Task Force for the Management of Emerging Infectious Diseases) guidelines, it imposes upon itself to issue cargo passes. The DTI does not want to add chaos or duplicate the task,” said Ines Cajegas, chief of the DTI 7 Consumer Protection Division.

The DTI 7 supported the Cebu Provincial Government’s reinstitution of strict border controls. Based on Cebu Gov. Gwendolyn Garcia’s Executive Order (EO)17-H, the borders of Cebu Province with Cebu City are Mandaue City in the north, Talisay City in the south and Balamban in the west.

At 12:01 a.m. on Friday, June 26, persons coming from Cebu City cannot enter Cebu Province. As Cebu City is under enhanced community quarantine (ECQ) status again, the Capitol decided to restrict the entry of persons from Cebu City into Cebu Province to prevent the further spread of the coronavirus disease 2019.

The Cebu Provincial Government eased border restrictions last June 3 after Cebu City was placed on GCQ.

According to the DTI 7, all passes of cargo vehicles passing through the municipalities and cities of Cebu Province will be issued by the Cebu Provincial Government.

The Provincial Government adopted the IATF’s approach of closing the borders to prevent the novel coronavirus from further spreading in Cebu.

The IATF recommended an ECQ status for Cebu City on June 16-30, 2020. President Rodrigo Duterte approved the recommendation. Before returning to ECQ status, Cebu City had been on GCQ status from June 1 to June 15. (JOB WITH PR)