Dynamic Herb Cebu FC debuts in PFL Copa Paulino Alcantara tournament

·2 min read

CEBU’s first-ever professional football club, Dynamic Herb Cebu FC will finally debut this Wednesday, November 10, in the Philippine Football League (PFL) Copa Paulino Alcantara tournament at the Philippine Football Federation (PFF) National Training Center in Carmona, Cavite.

The DH Cebu FC would have seen action in the opening match on November 7 against Stallion Laguna FC, but the match was rescheduled to Wednesday, November 10 after United City FC pulled out of the competition.

UCFC’s withdrawal allowed DH Cebu FC an automatic entry into the semifinals with the match on Wednesday just determining Group A’s top 1 and top 2 teams for the crossover semifinals.

“We’re happy to be there straight in the semifinals, but I am also worried because we only get to play one game, then the semis already. For me, the second game is still just like an adjustment period for the team, considering that they are a newly-formed club,” said head coach Oliver “BingBing” Colina.

Group B is composed of Copa 2018 champion Kaya FC-Iloilo, Azkals Development Team, and Mendiola FC 1991.

The team arrived in Laguna Saturday, November 6, and had their first training at the competition venue in Carmona.

“Our arrival was positive, and the team is excited about what they can offer. This morning we just did light training to familiarize with the field and official balls to be used in the competition,” said assistant coach Apol Bariñas.

Bariñas added that the adjustment for the team is not that big because the venue is also artificial turf, the same as the team’s home, the Dynamic Herb Borromeo Sports Complex.

DH Cebu CFC is manned by UAAP, NCAA and Cesafi standouts as well as former Azkals players, homegrown Cebuano talents, and players who have played for other clubs in the PFL.

UAAP standout Ace Villanueva, who has also played for the national team and the UP Fighting Maroons will be heading a young crop of goalkeepers in new addition Prince Lee Ferraren, Terence Colmenares and John Francis Zambrano.

Kintaro Miyagi, Daniel Bernan Gadia, and Jeremiah Borlongan, who have also played for the UP Fighting Maroons made it to the final lineup along with Tasci brothers Evren and Baris, Keenen Julian G. Cergneux, Jaime Rosquillo, Ruffy Llorente, Ranulfo ‘Bobong’ Colina, Mauro John Acot, Lorenzo Giuseppe Genco, Michael Pacite, John Roy R. Melgo III, Nicolas B. Ferrer Jr., Steven Patalinghug, and Yoji Elliot Selman.

Just recently, the team has been beefed up by Jason Cordova, Charles Ralph Allan Dabao III, John Renz ‘Poy’ Saldivar, Jeremiah ‘JB’ Borlongan, Roberto ‘Papu’ Corsame Jr., and foreign players Joaquin Cañas of Spain and Ricardo Ivan Sendra of Argentina. (PR)

Our goal is to create a safe and engaging place for users to connect over interests and passions. In order to improve our community experience, we are temporarily suspending article commenting