Eight golfers share lead in Seoul

Eight players including an unheralded Aussie who turned pro less than a year ago shared the lead after the first round of the GS Caltex Maekyung Open in Seoul on Thursday.

The leaders all shot four-under-par 68s at Namseoul Country Club, the third stop on the OneAsia tour, which has 14 events this year with a total purse of over $16 million.

Australian Kalem Richardson, Japan's Koichi Kitamura, Hu Mu of China, American Garrett Sapp and South Koreans Kang Kyung-Nam, Park Sang-Hyun, Kang Wook-Soon and Hur In-Hoi were all jostling for position.

But it was Richardson, 24, who stole the limelight in his first full OneAsia event.

"I sneaked out and played nine holes on Tuesday and then had a full practice round yesterday," he said. "Funnily enough it wasn't very good then. I didn't play very well at all, but today was different," he told OneAsia.

"I really enjoyed myself out there today. Things just went sort of well."

Richardson, who only turned pro in August, added: "The big difference between playing as an amateur and a professional is around the greens.

"You just can't afford to let anything slip around the greens. You really have to try and make everything," he said.

At the other end of the age and experience spectrum but also atop the leader board was veteran Kang Wook-soon, 45, who rolled back the years with a blemish-free round.

The well-travelled Kang topped the Asian Tour's Order of Merit in 1996 and 1998 and was also the first man to make half a million dollars on that tour in career earnings.

Hu, who was joint sixth in the opening event of the season, in Jakarta, said: "It's been there all year. I just stayed really really calm out there.

"I played here the last two years and struggled a bit because my ball striking just wasn't there. Coming into this year my goal was just to improve."

Defending champion Kim Kyung-Tae, who also won in 2007 and was runner-up in 2010, was well placed after shooting a 70.

Leading scores:

68 - Kalem Richardson (AUS), Hur In-Hoi (KOR), Koichi Kitamura (JPN), Kang Wook-Soon (KOR), Park Sang-Hyun (KOR), Kang Kyung-Nam (KOR), Garrett Sapp (USA), Hu Mu (CHN)

69 - Kim Woo-Chan (KOR), Shin Yong-Jin (KOR), Kim Bi-O (KOR), Hwang In-Choon (KOR), Park No-Seok (KOR), Jamie Arnold (AUS), Lee Jung-Hwan (KOR)

70 - Jason Kang (USA), Maxwell McCardle (AUS), Douglas Holloway (NZL), Jin Daxing (CHN), Cho Min-Gyu (KOR), Choi Ho-sung (KOR), Kim Seung-Hyuk (KOR), Kim Kyung-Tae (KOR), Lee Sang-Hee (KOR), Jung Ji-Ho (KOR), Lee Seong-Ho (KOR), Park Jun-Won (KOR)


Editor’s note:Yahoo Philippines encourages responsible comments that add dimension to the discussion. No bashing or hate speech, please. You can express your opinion without slamming others or making derogatory remarks.

  • OIC asked to complete review of peace pact with MNLF
    OIC asked to complete review of peace pact with MNLF

    The Philippine government is asking the 57-nation Organization of Islamic Cooperation (OIC) to finally complete the tripartite review process of the implementation of the 1996 peace agreement with the Moro National Liberation Front (MNLF). The review – snagged  for several years as government had its hands full with the peace process with rival faction Moro Islamic Liberation Front (MILF) – tackles how the 1996 peace pact with the MNLF has been implemented and centers on the three remaining …

  • Alleged Binay dummies appear in Senate probe
    Alleged Binay dummies appear in Senate probe

    Eight of the resource persons ordered arrested by the Senate finally attended the 21st public hearing of the Senate Blue Ribbon subcommittee into the alleged anomalies involving Vice President Jejomar Binay, but the proceedings turned out to be a review of matters previously presented. For over three hours, the subcommittee heard presentations regarding the alleged hidden assets of Binay and the issue regarding the supposed P200 million in kickbacks he received from a deal between the Boy …

  • DOJ wraps up Mamasapano probe
    DOJ wraps up Mamasapano probe

    The Department of Justice (DOJ) is wrapping up its investigation into the “massacre” of 44 members of the Philippine National Police Special Action Force (PNP-SAF) in Mamasapano, Maguindanao last Jan. 25. A joint team of prosecutors and NBI (National Bureau of Investigation) investigators is about to finish the second part,” Justice Secretary Leila de Lima has told congressmen. She was responding to questions raised by former senior police officer and now Rep. Samuel Pagdilao of party-list …

  • APEC meet in Bataan seen to boost tourism
    APEC meet in Bataan seen to boost tourism

    BALANGA CITY, Bataan – More than 2,000 delegates of the Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC) and international media outfits are expected to enjoy the splendid coastline of Bagac town, which faces the West Philippine Sea, as they converge for a workshop in this province next month. …

  • DOST opens P54-M research facility
    DOST opens P54-M research facility

    A P54-million research and development facility of the Department of Science and Technology (DOST) was recently opened in Bicutan, Taguig for scientists and researchers to develop technology and techniques to allow Filipino fashion and clothing designers and manufacturers to produce more mainstream products from local, tropical fabrics like piña, banana and abaca. Science Secretary Mario Montejo said the Innovation Center for Yarns and Textiles (ICYT) is the DOST’s flagship effort at reviving …

  • DFA worried about alleged violations of convicted Pinoys’ rights
    DFA worried about alleged violations of convicted Pinoys’ rights

    Philippine embassy officials in Doha have raised their concern with Qatari authorities over coercion and human rights violations in the alleged forcing of three Filipino workers convicted of spying to provide information and confess to the crime. Speaking to reporters, Department of Foreign Affairs (DFA) spokesman Charles Jose yesterday said the embassy has raised the matter during several high-level meetings with Qatari officials and the national human rights committee in Qatar. “Our embassy …

  • US affirms ‘ironclad’ promise to defend Phl
    US affirms ‘ironclad’ promise to defend Phl

    US Defense Secretary Ashton Carter told his Philippine counterpart on Wednesday that Washington’s pledge to defend the Pacific nation remains “ironclad” and called for an end to land reclamation in the South China Sea, officials said. In talks in Hawaii with Voltaire Gazmin, Philippine secretary of national defense, the Pentagon chief “reaffirmed” the strong ties between the two countries and discussed territorial disputes in the contested waters of the South China Sea, where Beijing has been …

  • ‘Conflict to affect economic growth, stability in SEA’
    ‘Conflict to affect economic growth, stability in SEA’

    Conflict in the South China Sea can affect economic growth and stability in Southeast Asia, New Zealand warned yesterday, amid China’s aggressive reclamation activities in disputed waters. New Zealand is marking its 40 th year of diplomatic ties with the Association of Southeast Asian Nations, and hopes to intensify trade and other linkages with the 10-member grouping. ASEAN members Brunei, Malaysia, the Philippines and Vietnam have overlapping territorial claims with China over the Spratly …


Should Aquino be held accountable over the Mamasapano operations?

Poll Choice Options