New EO eases restrictions for Apor, non-Apor entering Cebu Province

·2 min read

CEBU Governor Gwendolyn Garcia issued on Tuesday, Feb. 9, 2021, a new executive order (EO) that eases the restrictions for authorized persons outside their residences (Apor) and non-Apor entering Cebu’s towns and component cities.

Under EO 9 Series of 2021, Apor will not be required to undergo mandatory testing or quarantine protocols of the local government unit (LGU) of their destination as long as they comply with the following:

• Present a valid identification card from their respective government agency.

• Present an original or certified true copy of a travel authority or order issued by the Department Secretary or his designated official.

• Passed symptoms checking or screening at the port or airport upon arrival or boarding public transport.

Non-Apor can enter Cebu Province as long as they comply with the following:

• Present a valid medical certificate.

• Pass symptoms checking or screening at the point of departure and at the point of arrival

Both Apor and non-Apor must still comply with the minimum health standards, such as wearing masks and face shields and observing social distancing.

Other things you need to know about EO 9:

• EO 9 takes effect immediately.

• EO 9 does not apply to overseas Filipino workers and returning overseas Filipinos.

• Apor and non-Apor are no longer required to present a letter of acceptance from the barangay or local government unit of the destination they are going to.

• If LGUs want to request additional requirements for their visitors, they need to have them approved by Garcia and submitted to the Department of the Interior and Local Government.

“Travel should be unimpeded. We don’t have border control, so why should there be a need for requirements like a letter of acceptance? They are not locally stranded passengers; they are regular travelers,” Garcia said. (SunStar Cebu)