Erediano, Lipura rule Go for Gold

CEBUANO junior triathletes Moria Frances Erediano and CJ Lipura ruled the inaugural Go For Gold Triathlon Series Championship after earning the highest points in their divisions.

Erediano of Lapu-Lapu City was the highest pointer in the women’s side after garnering a total of 100 championship points from six races in 2019, while Lipura of Talisay City notched 52 points to top the men’s side.

These races were the Go For Gold Sunrise Sprint in Cebu on April 28, Go For Gold Aquaman Aquathlon on May 19 at the Vermosa Spurts Hub, Go for Gold Duaman Duathlon on June 16, Go For Gold Sunrise Sprint on July 7 in Davao City, Go For Gold Triman Triathlon in Subic on July 20 and the Go For Gold Sunrise Sprint in Subic on Oct. 27.

Finishing second in the women’s division was fellow Cebuana Nicole del Rosario who made 51 points. Ericka Burgos occupied the last podium spot with a total score of 49 points.

The men’s division was a tight race as Lipura won by a mere two points. Gian Taylor and Edward Macalalad finished with 50 points apiece to settle for second and third places, respectively. Lipura scored 15, 12 and 25 points in the last three races.

The win gave both Erediano and Lipura a slot in the Go For Gold National Triathlon Team. Each athlete will also receive a professional contract worth up to P100,000 and a bike from Strock Bikes Philippines. They were also handed a trophy designed by Zandro Castrillo, the nephew of national artist Eduardo Castrillo.

The inter-triathlon nationwide race series was held in collaboration with Sunrise Sprint and Tri Series, which were both supported by the Go For Gold. (RSC)