Duterte says PDP-Laban has Marcos's back ... for now

Former President Rodrigo Duterte (left) and current President Ferdinand Marcos, Jr. attend Vice President Sara Duterte's inauguration in Davao, Philippines.
DAVAO, MINDANAO, PHILIPPINES - JUNE 19: Former Philippine President Rodrigo Duterte (left) and his successor President Ferdinand "Bongbong" Marcos Jr. pose for pictures during the oathtaking of Sara Duterte as Vice President on June 19, 2022 in Davao, Philippines. (Photo by Ezra Acayan/Getty Images)

The Partido Demokratiko Pilipino-Laban ng Bayan (PDP-Laban) reelected Rodrigo Duterte, former president of the Philippines, as its party national chairman during its 40th-anniversary celebration and general assembly.

Duterte said that the PDP-Laban was not there to quarrel with the current administration, pledging full support to President Ferdinand Marcos, Jr., three months after passing the country's reins to his successor.

"I would like to make this thing very, very clear. We are not putting up a strong party against the party of the President, we are not going to quarrel with him. Far from it," Duterte explained in his speech on Thursday (September 29).

He added that the party will give their “full support” to Marcos.

“We will be giving our full support for him politically. He was elected by 31 million. I wish the President good luck and I hope he would govern this country in accordance to what is the mandate of the people's interest," he said.

Duterte, however, said that he will not hesitate to speak up if he sees any wrongdoing against the people.

"But the president can be very sure that in the coming days, we will fiscalize. 'Pag may nakita tayong masama (If we see something wrong), we will raise our voice because that is the essence of our presence here," Duterte said.

The party also elected other notable officials including:

  • Palawan 2nd District Representative Jose C. Alvarez – president

  • Former Energy Secretary Alfonso Cusi – vice chairman

  • Senator Robin Padilla – executive vice president

  • Senator Francis Tolentino – vice president for Luzon

  • Cebu City Mayor Mike Rama – vice president for Visayas

  • Senator Ronald “Bato” dela Rosa – vice president for Mindanao

  • Senator Bong Go – auditor

Duterte assumed this post as early as February 7, 2016, a year after he became chairman of the Davao City chapter of the Liberal Party (LP).

Mark Ernest Famatigan is a news writer who focuses on Philippine politics. He is an advocate for press freedom and regularly follows developments in the Philippine economy. The views expressed are his own.

Watch more videos on Yahoo: