Gabasa shoots for MVPSF crown

JUNIA Gabasa sets out for what promises to be another fierce showdown with Rianne Malixi as the Cebuana ace joined the title chase in the women’s division of the Riviera MVPSF Amateur Championship firing off Friday, Nov. 8, 2019 at Riviera’s Langer course.

Gabasa nipped Malixi by one to claim the W Express RVF Cup in Canlubang last February but the latter got back at the former by snaring the Philippine Junior Amateur Open overall title, also by the slimmest of margins, at Sherwood Hills last April.

Though they aren’t paired in first round, Gabasa, who also won the MVPSF Visayas Regional at Cebu Country Club, and Malixi, also the winner of this year’s Phl Amateur Open Match Play at Luisita and the recent Northern Luzon Regional, are tipped to meet in the final day of the 54-hole tournament organized and conducted by the National Golf Association of the Philippines.

But out to foil their bids are Korean Kwon Yeon Bang and Jody Castillo, who will slug it out with Gabasa in the 8:50 a.m. group, and Kwon Tae Yon and Ye Rin Kim, who will face off with Malixi at 9:10 a.m.

Also tipped to contend in the event are Laure Duque, Kim Seo Yun and Kwon Min Seo, who will start at 9 a.m. on No. 1, all aiming for a strong start at the hazard-laden, wind-raked layout.

Focus will also be on the men’s side with SEA Games-bound Sean Ramos drawing Miguel Ilas and Santino Laurel at 8:20 a.m. and recent Cangolf Am winner Dan Cruz, playing out of Luisita, who will clash with David Jung and Gus Pacheco at 7:50 a.m.

Perry Bucay, also from Luisita, tees off at 7:20 a.m. with Lee Sang Min and Masaichi Otake after the 7 a.m. duo made up of Vince Tiamsic and Francis Lanuza and the 7:10 a.m. batch composed of Christian Acero, Paolo Barro and Guam’s Nalapon Vongjalorn.

Others in the fold are Redge Camacho, Jung Jaehyun, Robert Manalo, Jonar Austria, Lee Seung Hoon, Don Petil, Josh Jorge, Jet Hernandez, Graeme Tamayo, Miguel Fusilero, Dylan Castillo, Pierre Ticzon, Kim Min Sung, Joachim Yu, Frank Schneider, Kim Tae Soo and Ricardo Terlaje. PR