Gotiong’s team rules 23rd Corn Tee Golf Tournament

·2 min read

THE Corn Tee Golf Tournament resumes for its 23rd staging after a two-year hiatus due to the Covid-19 pandemic. The event was held over four days, from Sept. 8 to 11 in Club Filipino de Cebu golf club in Danao City, Cebu. Teams are composed of one Club Filipino de Cebu member alongside three guests in a full handicap modified Stableford scoring format.

The team of Dominic Gotiong, Thomas Castillo, Rolando Pila and Vincent Osmeña took top honors of the tournament by winning the Overall Team Gross title with a total team score of 256 points. The Overall Team Net crown was won by the team of Lorie Alburo, Ting Creus, Ching Ochea and Apple Sombilon with 281 points.

The highlight of the tournament was courtesy of businessman Baltaire Balangauan scoring a hole-in-one on the 175 yard par 3 8th hole on Sept. 9, the second day of the tournament. With his ace, Balangauan was rewarded with a Volkswagen Santana courtesy of Volkswagen-Iconic Dealership Inc.

It was definitely Balangauan’s tournament as he and his team composed of Carl Almario, Boyet Mangana and Andrew Cañete won the Division A class with 284 points while runner-up honors go to the team of Dominic Espinosa, Grace Quintanilla, Angela Mangana and Junior Golf standout Jacob Cajita with 281 points.

In Division B, the team of Simon Reyna, Elmer Manzanades, Tomo Miyazaki and Anthony Milan took top prize with a score of 313 points over the team of Evans Tumaliwan, Rayman Jerusalem, Wilfredo Toñacao and Noel Paña with 310 points.

The Division C top honors went to the team of Willy Go, Robert Lim, Glenn King, Jojo Cañada with 322 points, while runner-up honors went to Willy Go’s second team alongside Jaymee Lim, Willy Mae Go and Chis Johnson Lim with 299 points.

For the individual awards, Lowest Gross honors went to Roy Dadula with 74 points, while the Lowest Net crown went to Joshua Abella with 91 points. (PR)