Hinashasan fellows named

·1 min read

THE University of San Carlos Cebuano Studies Center (CSC), in cooperation with Mamugnaong Anak sa Dagang Inc. (MAD), has selected the fellows to the 2021 Hinashasan Workshop for Young Writers, to be held via Zoom from April 9 to 11, 2021.

The creative writing workshop connects aspiring young writers to a writing community and literature. Led by published and award-winning authors, the workshop is designed to foster creativity and self-expression as well as empower the youth to find their voices through creative literary output.

This year’s fellows for poetry in Cebuano are Ivan Ridge Arbizo, Roy Mykel Arcilla, Grezel Jan Balbutin, John Carlo Beronio, Marianne Hazzale Bullos, Daryl Mendoza, Jojie Oga-ob, Leonel Quillo and Angelica Mae Villanueva.

The fellows for poetry in English are John Alvin Oporto and Christyn Stephanie Sun.

For the short story in Cebuano, the fellows are John Gilford Doquila and Gabriel Reyvee Paquera.

Faith Chloe Bendanillo, Lhance Karl Caratao, Trisha Marie Rebayla, Bernard Christopher Salvador and Clariza Mae Sevilla are the fellows for short story in English.

Constituting the panel of critics are Dr. Erlinda K. Alburo, Ralph Semino Galan, Jessrel Gilbuena, Haidee Emmie Palapar, Cindy Velasquez and Dr. Hope Sabanpan-Yu.

Novelist Charles Dominic Sanchez, serves as this year’s workshop director.

Featured in the workshop are literary and publishing-related lectures by Luis Manuel Diores Jr. of Child Learning Foundation and Noel G. de Leon of Kasingkasing Press.

For further information, contact the Cebuano Studies Center by phone at (32) 230-0100 local 308 during office hours or by email at tjlcs.submissions@gmail.com.