Hundreds join IBP's bike for a cause

·4 min read

AROUND 400 participants turned up for the "Criterium Race: The Verdict," a race for a cause that was aimed to promote a healthy lifestyle.

The cycling competition was organized by the Integrated Bar of the Philippines (IBP) Cebu City and the Mandaue City Government and presented by event organizer Uban ta Bai'ke (UTB).

It was held at the F.E. Zuellig Avenue Mandaue City across Cebu Doctor's University on Sunday, July 17, 2022.

Lawyer John Dennis Fernandez, one of the event chairpersons, told SunStar Cebu that the event, which was open to the public, aimed to encourage the people to engage in physical activities like cycling to boost their immune system amid the coronavirus disease (Covid-19) pandemic.

The race had a registration fee of P350 and it started at 6 a.m. and ended at 5 p.m.

Fernandez said the proceeds will be used to fund the IBP Cebu City's project called "Humanity Behind Bars," a program that aims to decongest and improve the jail facilities in Cebu, including the Mandaue City Jail and to provide legal aid to the persons deprived of liberty.

Fernandez said they partnered with the Mandaue City Government for their first-ever Criterium Race as Mandaue has been recognized as one of the bike-friendly cities in the country.

Under the project, IBP Cebu City partners with several government bodies and organizations that aim to decongest and improve penal facilities in Cebu so as to provide legal aid to persons deprived of liberty (PDL).

The competition was divided into nine categories (lawyers men and women, open women, 50 up, 40-49, 30-39, mountain bike (MTB), under 19, and 20-29), all of which are for 40 minutes each with three rounds.

Winners were given up to P5,000 for first place, P2,000 for second, P1,000 for third, P800 for fourth, and P500 for fifth place, including trophies and medals.

Maria Alice Lim-Angeles, first placer for the Lawyer Women category, shared how grateful she was to pursue her passion for cycling, which she said was stopped for almost three months.

Lim-Angeles said her victory was a pleasant surprise, stressing she had not practiced for a long time.

Philip Sainz, first placer for the 50 up category, and Sumiso Basalan, first placer for the under 19 category, said they were flattered to be able to contribute a small amount of help in improving different penal facilities in the province.

The event was held successfully and no crime-related incidents were recorded, said Police Lieutenant Colonel Franco Rudolf Oriol, Mandaue City Police Office deputy city director for operations and spokesperson.

The event was also attended by the Mandaue City officials headed by Mayor Jonas Cortes, who envisioned for Mandaue to become a sports capital in Cebu.

Fernandez said that with the successful holding of the event, they are planning on launching a triathlon soon.

Below is the complete list of winners:

Lawyers Men

1. Mariano Hesus Cuenco (first placer)

2. Darwin Cula (second placer)

3. June Maratas (third placer)

Lawyers Women

1. Alice Lim-Ingles (first place)

2. Hazel Miranda-Caraballe (second place)

3. Arlette Maratas (third place)


1. Philip Sainz (first place)

2. JV Araneta (second place)

3. Haylen Bardaje (third place)

4. Rolando Pagnanawon (fourth place)

5. Rosendo Ybañez (fifth place)


1. Ramonito Espinosa (first place)

2. Albert Basirgo (second place)

3. Dongkey Sanchez (third place)

4. Lyndon Caraquel (fourth place)

5. Clifford Verzosa (fifth place)


1. Roy Carbonera (first place)

2. Jhano Canasa (second place)

3. Jerson Domingo (third place)

4. Delfin Delfin (fourth place)

5. Rico Pitogo (fifth place)

MTB Open Cut

1. Jonel Carcueva (first place)

2. Samstill Mamites (second place)

3. Khalil Sanchez (third place)

4. Junreck Carcueba (fourth place)

5. Christopher Ceniza (fifth place)

19 under

1. Sumiso Basalan (first place)

2. John Taperla (second place)

3. Dwight Santos (third place)

4. Ronan Pedroza (fourth place)

5. Andrew Ferrer (fifth place)


1. Jonel Carcueba (first place)

2. John Louis Alatraca (second place)

3. Ramon dela Cruz (third place)

4. Patrick Acbayan (fourth place)

5. John Carcueva (fifth place)


1. Lovely Getaruelas (first place)

2. Carene Manayon (second place)

3. Nancy Manipuesto (third place)

4. Tashcuh Sonata (fourth place)

5. Vylette Kaye Alvez (fifth place)

Special Awards

Ramonito Espinosa

Rjhun Radana

Cedric Cabahug


Our goal is to create a safe and engaging place for users to connect over interests and passions. In order to improve our community experience, we are temporarily suspending article commenting