Iloilo, Capiz Ravaged By ‘Quinta’

ILOILO CITY, Iloilo - The province of Iloilo is now under a state of calamity due to flooding from Tropical Depression ''Quinta'' while several towns in Capiz province were also under a state of calamity.

The Iloilo Provincial Board passed a resolution last December 28 to pave the way for the utilization of funds for relief efforts in 22 towns and one component city affected by floods.

According to the Iloilo Provincial Disaster Risk Reduction and Management Control, some 121,265 residents were reported displaced by floods.

Flood-affected were the towns of Alimodian, San Miguel, Sta. Barbara, Zarraga, Janiuay, Lambunao, Mina, Calinog, Cabatuan, Pototan, Bingawan, Dueñas, Barotac Nuevo, Anilao, Dingle, Dumangas, San Enrique, Balasan, Concepcion, Barotac Viejo, Ajuy, and San Rafael, and Passi City.

Also declared under a state of calamity by the Capiz Provincial Board, were the towns of Cuartero, Dumarao, Sigma, Dumalag, Mambusao, Maayon, Panit-an, Pontavedra, and Tapaz even as the Capiz Provincial Disaster Risk Reduction and Management Council reported that 38,201 residents in the province have been displaced by the flood.

The death toll caused by Quinta in Western Visayas has risen to 14. Most of the victims were from Iloilo province who drowned.

In all, the Office of Civil Defense (OCD-6) has recorded some 171,742 people displaced in the provinces of Aklan, Capiz, Iloilo, and Negros Occidental.

OCD-6 also said displaced were 491 people displaced in Negros Occidental province and some 16,536 in Aklan province.

Meanwhile, the Office of the Provincial Agriculturist (OPA) here reported damage top crops as a result of flooding brought about by Quinta at an estimated total of P209,857,300.73.

The report, which was submitted to the Provincial Disaster Risk Reduction Management Council (PDRRMC), covered Kalibo, Libacao, Banga, Numancia, Lezo, Malinao, Madalag and Ibajay towns.


Editor’s note:Yahoo Philippines encourages responsible comments that add dimension to the discussion. No bashing or hate speech, please. You can express your opinion without slamming others or making derogatory remarks.

  • US ambassador recovers from knife attack praised by N. Korea
    US ambassador recovers from knife attack praised by N. Korea

    The US ambassador to South Korea, Mark Lippert, was recovering from surgery Thursday after having his face and arm slashed by a knife-wielding activist in an attack applauded by North Korean state media. The United States condemned the "act of violence" which saw the ambassador rushed to hospital where his condition was described as stable after two-and-a-half hours of surgery that included 80 stitches to a deep gash on his right cheek. In a brief despatch, North Korea's official KCNA news …

  • Sy moves up, Villar enters Forbes list of billionaires
    Sy moves up, Villar enters Forbes list of billionaires

    Eleven Filipinos are included in Forbes’ 2015 list of richest people in the world. Filipino-Chinese tycoon Henry Sy Sr. continues to be the wealthiest man in the Philippines. The 90-year-old SM supermalls, banking and property tycoon ranked 73rd among the world’s richest with an increased net worth of $14.2 billion from $11.4 billion last year. Sy’s net worth was attributed to the continued growth of his SM Investments Corp. and his more recent venture, the City of Dreams Manila resort and …

  • US billionaire says WWII Japanese ship found in Philippines
    US billionaire says WWII Japanese ship found in Philippines

    Microsoft co-founder Paul Allen said Wednesday he had found one of Japan's biggest and most famous battleships on a Philippine seabed, some 70 years after American forces sank it during World War II. Excited historians likened the discovery, if verified, to finding the Titanic, as they hailed the American billionaire for his high-tech mission that apparently succeeded after so many failed search attempts by others. Allen posted photos and video online of parts of what he said was the …

  • New Moro rebel group emerges
    New Moro rebel group emerges

    A radical Muslim cleric trained in the Middle East and considered one of the leaders of the Bangsamoro Islamic Freedom Fighters (BIFF) has broken away from the terror group to form his own band of jihadists who are now reportedly providing sanctuary to bomb expert Basit Usman and at least five foreign militants, the military said yesterday. Armed Forces of the Philippines (AFP) spokesman Col. Restituto Padilla, citing reports from the field, said the Justice for Islamic Movement (JIM) was …

  • World's oldest person wonders about secret to longevity too
    World's oldest person wonders about secret to longevity too

    TOKYO (AP) — The world's oldest person says 117 years doesn't seem like such a long time. …

  • Pacquiao big hit so far in Vegas sports books vs Mayweather

    LAS VEGAS (AP) — Manny Pacquiao has always believed he can do what 47 other fighters before him have failed to do — beat Floyd Mayweather Jr. in the ring. …

  • Australian drug smugglers being taken to Indonesian island for execution - media
    Australian drug smugglers being taken to Indonesian island for execution - media

    By Jane Wardell and Beawiharta SYDNEY/DENPASAR, Indonesia (Reuters) - Two convicted Australian drug smugglers were removed from a prison in Bali on Wednesday to be taken to an Indonesian island where they will be shot by firing squad, Australian media reported. The planned executions of Myuran Sukumaran, 33, and Andrew Chan, 31, have ratcheted up diplomatic tensions amid repeated pleas of mercy for the pair from Australia and thrown a spotlight on Indonesia's increasing use of the death …

  • Jolo apologizes to Bong in visit
    Jolo apologizes to Bong in visit

    Cavite Vice Gov. Jolo Revilla wept and embraced his father as he apologized for the “accidental” shooting incident in their Ayala Alabang residence, the family’s spokesman said yesterday. Lawyer Raymund Fortun came out of the private room at the Asian Hospital and Medical Center in Muntinlupa City to speak to reporters, who were barred from entering the hospital compound during the visit of Sen. Ramon “Bong” Revilla Jr. …


Should Aquino be held accountable over the Mamasapano operations?

Poll Choice Options