Jhye Richardson added to Australia ODI team for South Africa

1 / 2

South Africa Australia Cricket

South Africa's Faf du Plessis reacts after taking a catch and dismissing Australia's batsman Steven Smith for 29 runs during the 2nd T20 cricket match between South Africa and Australia at St George's Park in Port Elizabeth, South Africa, Sunday, Feb. 23, 2020. (AP Photo/Themba Hadebe)

MELBOURNE, Australia (AP) — Jhye Richardson could make his first international appearance in 11 months this weekend but the paceman has missed selection in Australia's one-day squad for its home series against New Zealand in March.

Richardson was added to Australia's ODI squad for their three one-day internationals in South Africa, with the first match to be played in Paarl on Saturday. But he did not make the cut for the squad announced Wednesday for the three-game series against the Kiwis in Australia starting March 13.

Australia has confirmed that the original 14-player ODI squad for the South Africa tour, not including Richardson, will be retained to take on New Zealand.

The 23-year-old Richardson was one of five fast bowlers picked in Australia's squad for the Twenty20 leg of the three-week tour in South Africa but has been overlooked for the first two games in that format.

The T20 series is tied ahead of third match in Cape Town later Wednesday. Australia won the series opener by 107 runs in Johannesburg but lost the second by 12 runs in Port Elizabeth.

Richardson could instead play a part in the one-dayers. He was set to be a pivotal player in the 50-over World Cup in England last year but injured his shoulder before the tournament and was sidelined for months.

"Jhye is performing exceptionally well," Australian selector Trevor Hohns said. “He has slotted back into the T20 squad in South Africa and is pushing for a place in that side.”


Australia squad for New Zealand series: Aaron Finch (captain), Ashton Agar, Alex Carey, Pat Cummins, Josh Hazlewood, Marnus Labuschagne, Mitch Marsh, Kane Richardson, D'Arcy Short, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Matthew Wade, David Warner, Adam Zampa.


More AP sports: https://apnews.com/apf-sports and https://twitter.com/AP_Sports