Instagram now tells people when you've screenshotted their photo

Dusty Baxter-Wright
Photo credit: Cosmopolitan UK

From Cosmopolitan

Sneaky social media stalkers: it's bad news for all those screenshots you've got saved on your photo stream, because from this moment onwards? Instagram users will be able to know when you print screen their photos, and you'll be able to know when they do it to you. WHAAAAT.

Well, for DMs, anyway.

Photo credit: Giphy

According to The Tab, the new update means that when you're sending and receiving photos via DM on Instagram, if the person you're sending it to decides to screenshot the picture and save it to their camera roll, the sender receives a notification saying the person has screenshotted their photo and now has it in hard copy. Much like Snapchat really.

Users will also be told when their messages have been 'delivered' and 'seen', and when photos have been 'opened', to make being ghosted all the more apparent. JOYS.

Photo credit: Cosmopolitan UK

While this is certainly not as scary for social media stalkers as if someone got notifications when you screenshot their actual Instagram posts - or their STORIES - it's certainly a step in that direction.

Could we start getting notifications if someone screenshots our grid? Our photos? Our Instagram stories? We're scared to even think about it.

('You Might Also Like',)