Lapu, Cebu Province dads choose new PCL leaders

·3 min read

THE Philippine Councilors League (PCL) chapters of Cebu Province and Lapu-Lapu City have formally welcomed their new officers during separate elections held this week.

On Friday, August 12, 2022, members of PCL-Cebu Chapter elected Toledo City Councilor Ricardo “Kuya Nick” Pepito as their new president.

Pepito, who received endorsements from Cebu Gov. Gwendolyn Garcia and her brother, Rep. Pablo John “PJ” Garcia (Cebu, 3rd), ran unopposed during the local chapter’s elections held at Waterfront Hotel and Casino in Cebu City.

Department of the Interior and Local Government Provincial Director Ian Kenneth Lucero proclaimed the winners after the election, which was witnessed by PCL National President Handy Lao of Laoag City, Ilocos Norte.

Call for unity

In a statement, Pepito urged members of their federation to remain united.

“We again have proven once again the power of unity. The famous quote ‘united we stand, divided we fall’ truly captures the essence of unity. If we want to have [a] stronger PCL, we need to be always united. Unity means work in a unified way,” Pepito said.

Aside from Pepito, also elected as new officers of PCL-Cebu Chapter are Mandaue City Councilor Marie Immaline Cortes- Zafra as vice president, Dumanjug Councilor Stanley Aldemita as secretary general, Tabogon Councilor Jojessa Hortelano as treasurer, San Remigio Councilor Jay Olivar as auditor, Liloan Councilor Chary Cañete as public relations officer and Pinamungajan Councilor Marvin Miralles as business manager.

The members of the PCL Cebu’s board of directors were drawn by lot for their respective rankings. They are Medellin Councilor Harold Salimbangon, Minglanilla Councilor Oscar dela Calzada Jr., Alcoy Councilor Jonathan Abajon, Madridejos Councilor Venice Cyrus Rebadomia, Argao Councilor Jonathan Villegas, Toledo City Councilor Amuerfino Perales, Poro Councilor Ashley Otadoy, and Tuburan Councilor Dason Lorenz Lagon.

They are set to take their oath on Monday, August 15, before Governor Garcia at 1:00 p.m. Afterwards, Pepito will attend the Provincial Board session as an ex-officio member an hour later.

Lapu-Lapu City

Last Thursday, August 11, Lapu-Lapu City’s PCL chapter also elected City Councilor Jan Vincent “Janvi” dela Serna as its new president during the group’s elections held at the Sanggunian Panglungsod session hall at City Hall.

Dela Serna, a second-term city councilor, is an ally of Mayor Junard “Ahong” Chan.

Dela Serna expressed his gratitude to his partymates for their trust and support.

“I am over the moon. I feel extremely honored for the trust that my fellow City Councilors have in me, electing me as president of the Philippine Councilor League-Lapu Lapu City Chapter. I will take on this role seriously, with the welfare of all the Oponganons constantly in mind (and heart),” Dela Serna told SunStar Cebu on Friday, August 12.

Dela Serna currently chairs at least three committees in the City Council, namely: committee on games and amusement, committee on sports development; and committee on police, penology, fire, and civil military relations.

Aside from Dela Serna, City Councilor Emilio Galaroza Jr. was elected as vice president, while Councilors Annabeth Cuizon and Linda Susan Baring were elected as secretary general and treasurer, respectively.

Councilor Jorgen Book was elected as the PCL chapter’s auditor, while Councilors Celestino Aying and Councilor Eugene Espedido were elected as PRO and business manager, respectively.

While members of the PCL-Lapu-Lapu City Chapter also elected Councilors Marciano Alforque, Efren Herrera, Joseph Pangatungan, Climaco Tatoy Jr., and Nelson Yap as chapter directors.

Chan administered the oath of the newly elected PCL officers.