Libre: Siloy Awards (Part II)

Mel Libre

The Cebu Siloy Music Awards took a leap of faith by broadcasting the announcement of winners on Facebook Live on May 29. The one-hour show had performances of Jewel Villaflores (“Taytayan”), Gerlyn Abaño (“Gugmang Gihandom”), Maric Gavino (“Kapoy”) and Insoy Niñal of Missing Filemon (“Kawanangan”). Folk music pioneer Manny Lapingcao was honored with the Siloy Bahanding Awit for the iconic tune “Estuyante o Estambay” that he performed. Also appearing as presentors were Eva de los Santos, Vincent Borromeo and Jude Gitamondoc. And to think that I hosted the program from my home in Hamilton, New Zealand!

Here are the rest of the nominees and winners: Breakthrough Artist of the Year: Ferdinand Aragon, “Matag Piraso”; Maric Gavino, “Kapoy”; Brian Pepito, “Mapasaya Ka Lang”; Juan Paasa, “Summoning Eru”; Lourdes, “2 Cents”; Route 83, “Pagmahay”; Diane Tungol, “Glitch.” Winners: Juan Paasa and Ferdinand Aragon. Juan Paasa’s “Summoning Eru” was the rock anthem for 2019 and the album from which the song is lifted has other music gems including “Baleleng.” Ferdinand Aragon is a gifted songwriter whose songs have captured the ears not just of discriminating Manila judges but the listeners of the Visayas and Mindanao. We are confident that Juan Paasa and Ferdinand Aragon are on their way to national prominence.

Best Rock/Reggae/Alternative Performance: Agadiers, “Gugma”; Aggressive Audio, “O Pilipinas”; Bethany, “The Infinite”; Franco, “Rebirth”; Juan Paasa, “Summoning Eru”; Powerspoonz, “Barrio”; Sheila & The Insects, “Always.” Winner: Juan Paasa. Not only does Juan Paasa rock hard, they are playful and exceptionally creative with “Summoning Eru,” a song that sounds alien, yet is actually Bisaya. Yoyoy and Max Surban have their heir apparent in these guys who give Bisrock a good name.

Song of the Year: “2 Cents,” Lourdes Maglinte; “Kahangturan,” Raven Tabanera, Relden Campanilla, Ferdinand Aragon; “Keep,” M. Kindica; “Gugmang Gihandom,” A. Guivelondo, Gerlyn Abaño and Jeff Escarda; “Matag Paraiso,” Ferdinand Aragon; “One,” Cattski Espina; “Summoning Eru,” Mlex Villahermosa, Bankai Alas, Miggy Cerna, Joe Marc, Van Mande. Winner: “Summoning Eru.” The song defies the discipline of the Bisaya language and incorporates the humor that Bisaya-speaking Filipinos are known for.

Juan Paasa was the biggest winner with three Siloys, followed by Ferdinand Aragon with two. What makes us proud of these musicians is that they’ve maintained their base in Cebu, even with a huge chance of making it big in Manila. Together with other committed Bisaya artists, they are making a statement that Manila does not have the monopoly on Original Pilipino Music. Bisaya Orig has finally arrived.