LP dominates gubernatorial races

Manila, Philippines --- The ruling Liberal Party is showing an early lead in the gubernatorial races in most parts of the country, with the exception of the National Capital Region and Region 10 (Northern Mindanao).

The administration party, however, appears lagging in Cavite, Laguna, Quezon, Negros Oriental, Pangasinan, Pampanga -- crucial provinces for the administration because they are either vote-rich or symbolic of what the Aquino administration says it stands for.

Thirty out of the 80 provinces underwent one-on-one gubernatorial races, with the ruling party fielding candidates in 25 of them.

In the Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (ARMM), LP candidates are leading with wide margins (as of Tuesday morning's partial unofficial tabulations), in Lanao Del Sur, Maguindanao, Basilan, Sulu, and Tawi Tawi.

LP endorsed OIC-regional governor Mujiv Hataman in 2012, the current frontrunner in the six-cornered race for ARMM governor.

Cebu, one of the provinces given importance by President Aquino III because it has the largest voting population outside of the National Capital Region, appears to be delivering for LP.

Administration gubernatorial candidate Hilario Davide III led early with his 560,099 votes as of 10 am. Tuesday over NUP's John Pablo Garcia, whose family has ruled the capitol for a total of 18 years.

Cebu is home to a voter population of 2.5 million. Other areas in the region such as Bohol (Edgar Chatto with 293,520 votes), and Siquijor (Jecoy Villa with 27,224 votes) are expecting LP victories as well.