Maja Salvador, ER Ejercito Win Big At Luna Awards

MANILA, Philippines - Maja Salvador's acting skills continue to win nods with her winning another best actress trophy for the film "Thelma" at the Luna Awards held at the Quezon City Sports Club on Aug. 26. Recall that Salvador also won in the equivalent category at the Gawad Urian, also for that film.

Her film director Paul Soriano was named Best Director even as he and screenwriter Froilan Medina took home the Best Screenplay award. The film inspired by the life story of champion runner Elma Muros won the Best Cinematographer award for Odyssey Flores.

Another big winner at Luna was actor-turned-politician George "ER" Ejercito's "Manila Kingpin: The Asiong Salonga Story."

Ejercito was named the Best Actor in the award-giving body organized by the Film Academy of the Philippines. It is the Laguna Governor's third Best Actor award for the film. Other award giving bodies that have bestowed him the honor were the Star Awards for Movies ng Philippine Movie Press Club (PMPC) and the PASADO awards.

"Asiong" also took home these awards at Luna: Best Picture, Best Supporting Actor (John Regala), Best Production Design (Fritz Silorio and Mona Silorio), Best Sound (Albert Michael Idioma), and Best Editing (Jason Cahapay and Ryan Orduna).

Below is the complete list of winners in the 30th FAP Luna Awards:

Best Picture: "Manila Kingpin: The Asiong Salonga Story" (Scenema Concepts-Viva Entertainment Productions)

Best Director: Paul Soriano, "Thelma" (Time Horizon Pictures)

Best Actress: Maja Salvador, "Thelma"

Best Actor: Jeorge "ER" Estregan, "Manila Kingpin: The Asiong Salonga Story"

Best Supporting Actor: John Regala, "Manila Kingpin: The Asiong Salonga Story"

Best Supporting Actress: Lovi Poe, "Yesterday, Today, Tomorrow" (Regal Entertainment, Inc.)

Best Screenplay: Froilan Medina and Paul Soriano, "Thelma"

Best Cinematography: Odyssey Flores, "Thelma"

Best Production Design: Fritz Silorio and Mona Silorio, "Manila Kingpin: The Asiong Salonga Story"

Best Editing: Jason Cahapay and Ryan Orduna, "Manila Kingpin: The Asiong Salonga Story"

Best Musical Score: Raul Mitra, "No Other Woman" (Star Cinema/Viva Entertainment Prods.)

Best Sound: Albert Michael Idioma, "Manila Kingpin: The Asiong Salonga Story"

Special Awards/Citations:

Golden Reel Award (posthumous)-Dolphy (Rodolfo V. Quizon)

Fernando Poe Jr. Lifetime Achievement Award-Augusto Salvador

Manuel de Leon Award for Exemplary Achievements-Manuel "Jun" Urbano

Lamberto Avellana Memorial Award-Ben Feleo, Don Escudero, and Jose Batac.