Mayor Rama elected president of country’s League of Cities

·2 min read

CEBU City Mayor Michael Rama was elected president of the League of Cities of the Philippines (LCP) Thursday, July 21, 2022.

Rama secured the victory through a consensus that was signed by 96 out of 110 city mayors in attendance during the LCP’s general assembly held at Crowne Plaza Manila Galleria Hotel in Quezon City.

The LCP was formed on July 25, 1987 through an executive order issued by then-President Corazon Aquino. Section 499 of the Local Government Code of the Philippines formally institutionalized the LCP for the “primary purpose of ventilating, articulating, and crystallizing issues affecting city government administration.”

As of 2019, the league was composed of 146 members. But during the general assembly on Thursday, only 110 city mayors were present.

In his speech, Rama expressed his gratitude to the city mayors and called for unity of all local government units (LGUs) in support of the national agenda of President Ferdinand “Bongbong” Marcos Jr. and Vice President Sara Duterte.

Rama also assured the members of the league that he is open to collaboration as he is “not an island” and needed the support of the other mayors.

Sharing of best practices of different cities in the country is also being eyed by Rama.

For the tri-cities—namely Cebu, Mandaue and Lapu-Lapu—and Talisay City in Cebu, Rama said his election as LCP president will only strengthen the relationship and coordination of the four LGUs.

More projects

With the election of Rama as national president, other mayors in Cebu hoped that this would bring more projects and opportunities for the Cebuanos.

In the Facebook live report of the Cebu City Public Information Office, Mandaue City Mayor Jonas Cortes said he was happy about Rama’s election and hopes for more projects in their respective localities.

Talisay City Mayor Gerald Anthony “Samsam” Gullas Jr. also expressed his congratulations to Rama.

“It is good for Cebu. It will put Cebu on the map... Hopefully, more projects will come,” said Gullas.

Lapu-Lapu City Mayor Junard “Ahong” Chan said Rama, as league president, can also help Cebu’s economy to bounce back after it was hit by the coronavirus disease pandemic and recent calamities.

This is not the first national post Rama has held in a league of elected officials.

In 2007, Rama was elected as the national president of the Vice Mayors League of the Philippines and way back in 1998, Rama also served as national president of the Philippine Councilors League.

In 2019, then Cebu City mayor Edgardo Labella was also elected as the national chairman of the LCP.

Our goal is to create a safe and engaging place for users to connect over interests and passions. In order to improve our community experience, we are temporarily suspending article commenting