Mora Dribblers win 2nd straight Picpa title

THE RP Mora Dribblers wasted a double-digit lead in the first half but survived in the final seconds of the game to beat the COA Enablers 74-71 in the championship game for their second straight title in the Philippine Institute of Certified Public Accountants (PICPA)-Cebu Basketball League 2019-2020 on Saturday March 7, 2020, at the Capitol Parish Gym.

Despite playing without their reliable pivot, Luis Fajardo Jr., RP Mora started hot with Dondon Santiago leading the charge to build a 20-10 lead after the first quarter.

The Dribblers continued to take control of the match with Jecon Bonsocan and Ram Agnes contributing to keep a double digit lead at the end of the first half.

The Commission on Audit team slowly crept back behind the Sindey Metante and Junniex Singculan that helped the Enablers bounce back hard in the final two quarters.

With the momentum of the game shifting the Enablers’ way, the Dribblers had to rely on their full court defense to neutralize uprising of COA.

After a thrilling exchange of baskets in the final quarter, the score stood even at 71-all. It was Agnes who managed to give the Dribblers a precarious lead 72-71, with a split free throw which was a result of a good defensive stop of the defending champions.

The Enablers had the chance to turn to tide around but Santiago, who was named the Finals MVP, denied the attempt of COA in the final seconds of the game and the Dribblers again scored the final two points from the free throw line for the final count.

Santiago score the team high 21 points while Bonsocan added 15 for the back-to-back champions RP Mora Dribblers while Singculan scored the game high 25 points and Metante finished with 15 markers for COA Enablers.

Meanwhile, TSO & Co. took home the third place trophy following an 86-72 victory over Team Strikers with Vienzon Romero topscoring with 24 points.

The three-month long tournament was organized by CPA-Lawyer Reiner Mora along with John Siegfred Agraviador, Rengie Galo, Jermie Plaza, Venencio Oyangoren Jr., Ramil Oliveros, Andrake Canete, Michael Jomuad and Alben Zabala. The tournament commissioner was Mamay Puzon. (PR)