LTFRB 7 gives green light to 14 MyBus units in Cebu

FOURTEEN more MyBus units were authorized by the Land Transportation Franchising and Regulatory Board (LTFRB) 7 to travel in Cebu.

The LTFRB 7 has given the MyBus operator—Metro Rapid Transit Services Inc. (MRTSI)—a provisional authority (PA), allowing its buses to transport commuters from Cebu City to the towns of Minglanilla and Consolacion.

LTFRB 7 Director Eduardo Montealto Jr. issued the PA on Tuesday, Dec. 17, 2019. Based on the PA, 13 of the buses will travel from SM City Cebu in Barangay Mabolo, Cebu City to Anjo World Theme Park in Minglanilla.

Only one MyBus unit will travel from SM City Cebu to SM Consolacion in northern Cebu.

However, the final details of the 14 buses’ routes have yet to be determined as the LTFRB 7 is waiting for the updated petition to extend the route from the MRTSI management.

Montealto said the 14 buses are among the 77 MyBus units that were approved by the LTFRB 7 in 2017.

The official said the LTFRB 7 would publish the routes and fare rates after the agency would receive the amended petition from MRTSI.

The 14 buses could operate before the year ends, said Montealto.

Montealto also announced that by July 1, 2020, the automatic fare collection system for modern public utility vehicles will be implemented. Commuters, he said, will have to pay using cards. (HBL / RSR)

Our goal is to create a safe and engaging place for users to connect over interests and passions. In order to improve our community experience, we are temporarily suspending article commenting