Ten teams join NBTC Cebu elims

A TOTAL of 10 teams bannered by traditional powerhouses SHS-Ateneo de Cebu and the University of the Visayas will be competing in the Cebu City eliminations of the Chooks-to-Go National Basketball Training Center (NBTC) League Presented by SM at the Cebu City Sports Institute on January 26, 2020.

In Bracket A are the University of San Carlos, Don Bosco, Pajo National High School, Salazar College of Science and Institute of Technology and Southwestern University-Phinma. Bracket B meanwhile, has the reigning Cesafi champions Ateneo de Cebu and their bitter rivals, UV. Crowding the two are Abellana National School, Cebu Institute of Technology-University and the University of San Jose-Recoletos.

The games will open on January 26, 2020 with a game between UV and USJ-R. A short opening program will be conducted, after which a triple-header of games will follow.

Ateneo de Cebu will be pitted against ANS, Pajo will battle Don Bosco while SWU-Phinma tackles USC in the day’s final game at 4:30 p.m.

The teams will play a single round-robin in their bracket with the top two finishers advancing to the knockout, crossover semifinals. The two finalists of this tournament will earn spots in the NBTC national high school championship that will be held later this year.

The league’s partners are SM, Chooks-to-Go, Vivo, Smart, Darlington, Expeed, Gatorade, Phoenix, Molten, Go for Gold, Cignal, ESPN5 and the Samahang Basketbol ng Pilipinas. (JNP)