NEDA still awaits post-Yolanda reports

Tacloban City, Leyte — About half of total national government agencies (NGAs) and local government units (LGUs) in Region VIII have yet to submit their inputs to the regional rehabilitation and recovery plan for Eastern Visayas, the National Economic Development Authority (NEDA) said. NEDA Regional Director (for Eastern Visayas) Bonifacio G. Uy said NEDA is still following up with agencies to ensure submission of their full reports for inclusion to the rehabilitation and recovery blueprint. . “We extended the deadline from January 7 to January 31, but still some agencies were not able to submit complete reports, which we have been asking one month after the storm struck the region,” Uy said. The national government has developed the Reconstruction Assistance on Yolanda (RAY) in mid-December 2013 with details to be provided through the regional master rehabilitation and recovery plan (MRRP). RAY investment requirement has initially been pegged at R360.9 billion. Of the total, R183.3 billion will be for shelter and resettlement, R28.4 billion for public infrastructure, R37.4 billion for education and health services, R18.70 billion for agriculture, R70.60 billion industry services, R4 billion for local government and R18.40 billion for social protection. Agencies without a single report submitted to the NEDA are the Mines and Geo-sciences Bureau, Department of Energy, Civil Aviation Authority of the Philippines, Department of Transportation and Communication, Commission on Higher Education, and both the Eastern Samar and Samar provincial governments. Those who have already given NEDA complete reports are the Department of Agriculture, Department of Agrarian Reform, Philippine Coconut Authority, Fiber Industry Development Authority, Department of Trade and Industry, Department of Tourism, Department of Public Works and Highways and Tacloban City. Partial reports were submitted by the National Irrigation Administration, Department of Environment and Natural Resources, Department of Science and Technology, Telecommunications Office, National Telecommunication Commission, Philippine Ports Authority, Department of Education, Technical Education and Skills Development Authority, Department of Health, and National Housing Authority. Also already with initial reports already given to NEDA are the Department of Labor and Employment, Department of the Interior and Local Government, Philippine National Police, Bureau of Jail Management and Penology, Department of Social Welfare and Development, Leyte, Southern Leyte, Biliran, Northern Samar, Ormoc City, Catbalogan City and Calbayog City. The NEDA main office initiated formulation of said plan in its capacity as vice-chair for rehabilitation and recovery of the National Disaster and Risk Reduction Management Council.

Our goal is to create a safe and engaging place for users to connect over interests and passions. In order to improve our community experience, we are temporarily suspending article commenting