Palace releases list of 2022 holidays

·1 min read

MALACAÑANG on Friday, October 29, 2021, released the declaration of President Rodrigo Duterte on regular holidays and special working and non-working days for 2022.

Duterte signed Proclamation No. 1236, declaring the following regular holidays and special days that will be observed in the country in 2022.

Regular holidays

January 1 - New Year's Day

April 9 - Araw ng Kagitingan

April 14 - Maundy Thursday

April 15 - Good Friday

May 1 - Labor Day

June 12 - Independence Day

August 29 - National Heroes' Day

November 30 - Bonifacio Day

December 25 - Christmas Day

December 30 - Rizal Day

Special non-working days

February 1 - Chinese New Year

February 25 - People Power Revolution Anniversary

April 16 - Black Saturday

August 21 - Ninoy Aquino Day

November 1 - All Saints' Day

December 8 - Feast of the Immaculate Conception of Mary

Special working days

November 2 - All Souls' Day

December 24 - Christmas Eve

December 31 - Last Day of the Year

The proclamation said national holidays for the observance of Eidul Fitr and Edul Adha will be issued after approximate dates of Islamic holidays have been deemed per the Islamic calendar or the lunar calendar or upon Islamic astronomical calculations.

"For the country to recover from the adverse impact of the Covid-19 pandemic, there is a need to encourage economic productivity by, among others, minimizing work disruption and commemorating some special holidays as special (working) days instead," Duterte said.

Duterte tasked the Department of Labor and Employment to promulgate the guidelines of the proclamation. (JGS)

Our goal is to create a safe and engaging place for users to connect over interests and passions. In order to improve our community experience, we are temporarily suspending article commenting