PBA will have new MVP this season

·1 min read

For the first time in six years, a new Most Valuable Player (MVP) will be crowned. This after Philippine Basketball Association (PBA) commissioner Willie Marcial revealed that he would be pushing forward a proposal to the league’s board that will retain the awarding of individual season awards.

Should Marcial proves successful, all regular awards excluding the Best Player of the Conference award will be handed out to deserving players. This would also mean that for the first time in six years, another player other than Cebuano behemoth June Mar Fajardo will be winning the coveted MVP plum.

Fajardo, who is a native of Pinamungajan, has been the standard-bearer of excellence in the PBA, winning the MVP trophy in each of the last six seasons. However, the 6-foot-10 giant was not able to compete for San Miguel in the 2020 Philippine Cup after suffering a leg injury back in February.

The other awards being handed out are the Rookie of the Year, Mythical Five, Mythical Second Team, Samboy Lim Sportsmanship Award, Most Improved Player, and the All-Defensive Team.

The Annual Leo Awards will be held during opening night of the PBA’s 46th season next year.

The latest statistical points standings saw Phoenix wingman Matthew Wright leading the race with 39.5 statistical points, thanks to averages of 22.8 points, 5.4 rebounds, 6.0 assists, and 1.4 steals per game. (JNP)